freejoth turret mill to cnc

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: freejoth turret mill to cnc

Downloads
    Uploads

Default freejoth turret mill to cnc

Hi to everyone on the forum

i hope i can make sense with my questions because until a month ago i did not know anything about cnc but have learnt a small amount since and i am looking to learn more.

i have a large frejoth turret mill that i have had for 15 years but recently it has a worm gear and bevel pinion damaged and now has no feed so rather than scrap a good mill i decided to look at converting it to cnc, i understand that most people would say just buy a cnc machine instead of retrofitting a knee mill but i don't want to scrap it ,also i am a electrical fitter mechanic of 35 years with a lot of time spent in a machine shop so the hardware fitting servo motors and making drives is easy for me and have a lathe as well and i love a challenge.

The things i would like help on is what size and specs of servo motor would i need and if any of the chinese servo motors and drivers are any good if so which ones.

Also what would be the best choice for a motion controller considering it is going to have an output for a vfd and also many inputs and outputs for other functions,also i would like the board to be usb interface and the highest frequency available and can i use a 4 axis motion controller and only use the 3 axis and have a spare axis for later uses.

i have many questions but i don't want to ask to many stupid questions until i learn more and there is defantely a lot more to learn.

thanks in advance for any help
    kind regards mechhamo

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: freejoth turret mill to cnc

i thought these forums were set up to help people, o replies
    well it look like i am on my own and not even a welcome to the forum

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by mechhamo View Post
    i thought these forums were set up to help people, o replies