Australia Importing a cnc lathe from China

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Importing a cnc lathe from China

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Importing a cnc lathe from China

Hi,
    Just thought I'd share my experience importing a cnc lathe from China. I'm feeling pretty good tonight, I've just got it running for the first time, and I'm quite happy with it so far.

A little bit about me and why I wanted a cnc lathe. I'm a couple years away from retiring from my current job, and I'm in the process of setting up a home workshop where I can make bits for the hotrod I want to build. I want my workshop set up before I retire, basically so I don't expire from the shock of not working. I'm an electrical fitter by trade, and I've studied and worked in electrical engineering, and I now work in IT. The most fun I've had so far was in the machine shop were I first started work, I quite often wish I was back there.

I've always enjoyed making and fixing things, and I've always been fascinated by cnc machines. I did a TAFE course about 20 years back on programming them, and made a few things, I never thought I'd be able to own my own machines.

So, I decided I wanted a cnc lathe, cnc milling machine, and a cnc plasma cutter, a pullmax, and a few other bits and pieces.

I found a pullmax locally for a good price, but it has no tooling, I'm hoping I can make my own.

Then I ordered a skyfire cnc machine, you can read about that in another thread here on cnc zone.

And now the lathe. The size of machine I am after is as big as you can go on a residential power supply.

I looked at some second hand machines, and some new machines available locally, they were either too big or too small, or way out of my price range. So I started looking at new Chinese flat bed lathes, and I settled on a CK6136A-1 from Taian Crystal http://www.alibaba.com/product-detai...084443200.html