Aspire not cutting corner radius/fillet

Thread: Aspire not cutting corner radius/fillet

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Aspire not cutting corner radius/fillet

Hi,

I am trying to cut a solidworks STL model and using aspire to toolpath it. i am new to this so im obviously doing something wrong.

I am using a 3mm upcut bit and i tool-path a profile cut then a 3d finishing cut but it does not radius/fillet the edges and leaves them sharp.

can an upcut bit do edges? should i be using a ball nose or something else?

I need it to cut the model as is which has 1/4" radius on the edges but it just cuts a straight profile with sharp edges, can anyone give me a clue?

i have attached pictures

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Aspire not cutting corner radius/fillet-notcutting-jpg   Aspire not cutting corner radius/fillet-notcutting2-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Aspire not cutting corner radius/fillet

I'm not sure I understand the number of questions being posed here.If the piece has vertical edges then you will be able to cut the outline with any size flat bottom tool in your possession,so it puzzles me that you would choose to use something as small as 3mm.You don't give any details of the machine you are using or the size of the project.If I assume there is no ATC it ought to be quite possible to create the shape in two operations as long as you establish a correct Z datum for the second,corner rounding,operation.

First of all you need to check the tool library to verify that the correct details for the tool are there and that you haven't mixed up radius and diameter.If its all good you might usefully re-select the outline and re-calculate the toolpath.Then run the simulation at the highest resolution your computer can handle to see if the outline will be cut correctly.If this part is correct the machining of the corners shouldn't be too much more work,but could take a very long time if you aren't careful.