Make my own Arduino-like microcontroller board

Thread: Make my own Arduino-like microcontroller board

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Make my own Arduino-like microcontroller board

I'm trying to make my own Arduino-like microcontroller board. I have an application where I need to take sensors that provide 5 different types of information, and using a micro-controller transmit the data (RF transmitter) to a recording system in such a way that the 5 types of data can be compared via time/date stamp to determine what the readings are at any given time. I have NO experience with micro-controllers. Any suggestions?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Make my own Arduino-like microcontroller board

I stopped making my own controller boards. Nowadays I add a header to my board that fits a standard processor board like Arduino Nano, ESP32, STM32, etc. It is cheaper, saves a lot of developing time and making the actual board at home is easier. Only if the board needs to be very tiny, I use a bare processor.

Whenever I need a new sensor, display or other control or etc, I try to find one that is supported by the Arduino IDE and use the example sketches to test the device. After that, I start developing my own code. For AVR processors I use Atmel studio 7 and an AVR dragon debugger, my favorite environment. For STM32 boards I use the Cube-IDE and a ST-link debugger (cheap), For ESP32 I use Visual Studio Code and a J-link debugger.

Visual Studio Code is easy to install if the board is supported and it supports a lot of processor types. The IDE depends a lot on function key's and that is not by cup of tee.

I stopped using PIC processors because you have to install so many different compilers (mostly costly) and thy all seem to have their own language what makes sharing libraries difficult.