A little guidance, please!

Thread: A little guidance, please!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default A little guidance, please!

I am an absolute beginner when it comes to electronics and CNC machines. That said, I want to build a CNC Router. I plan to use it to cut out things that I might normally use my scroll saw to cut out. I currently plan to use NEMA 23 stepper motors, ACME rods and backlash nuts for the drive system, round rods and linear bearings to guide it, and a wood frame for the machine. I'm an experienced woodworker and don't anticipate any problems putting the machine, minus the electronics and software, together. The electronics ans software are my areas of concern. II think I want to use an Arduino Uno with stepper controllers, along with grbl. I don't really know what else is needed.

Where should I start my learning process for the electronics and software portions of the project? Can someone give me a rough outline of the steps I need to take once the CNC router is built? What electronics do I need? What (free?) software do you recommend? I've seen a few articles on the Internet, but, frankly, most of them go right over my head in the first paragraph or two. They also present too many options. I do have C programming experience, if that helps. I just need to have some idea on how to attack the learning curve.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: A little guidance, please!