PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using Surfcam?



Fish
06-19-2003, 09:22 PM
We are currently looking at upgrading our software, and someone suggested Surfcam. Modelling will be done with either Solidworks or Rhino. Any suggestions and or experiences. We'll need full fourth capabilities.

Adam

castguy2003
06-20-2003, 08:25 AM
I would pick Surfcam as the top of the mid price Cam packages. Good support is available, good dealer network. Software will do just about anything and it has built in solid modeling.

Castguy2003

SRT
06-20-2003, 09:18 AM
Castguy2003,
Can you let me know what the $ of that mid price is for Surfcam.
Also do they have as Mastercam does, a comparable to MC mill level 1 ($5000) that can be added onto later. And what they charge for there comparable mill level 1.
Thank you.

castguy2003
06-20-2003, 11:11 AM
When you buy a seat of Surfcam, the CD contains the full blown program. The software lock (simm) which plugs into your computer is programmed to limit your capabilities if you only purchase the 2-D version. Full blown is about 17,000.00 per seat I think 2-D is less than half that but check their website for a quiote and demo. www.surfcam.com


Mike

SRT
06-20-2003, 05:46 PM
castguy2003,
I took a look and learned some stuff, but no prices so I'll abid by your figure on the full blown compared to MC which I believe is 12,500.
Thanks for the reply.

cncadmin
06-20-2003, 06:02 PM
Hardmill can hook you up he is a MC reseller.

SRT
06-20-2003, 07:08 PM
Paul,
I believe they have designated areas, but I'd willing to explore.
I've got to make a decision very soon.

cadcam
06-21-2003, 11:10 AM
SRT as it comes to MC we do have designated areas.
This why I can not post prices over the board..

Most of the prices are set buy MC main office.

Now as for the surfcam and using the Solid works.
The problem I find is that there solid package is out side and a Sep module.

So when you bring in the SLDPart from solid works it is not a true solid but a surface file..

I am not saying that Surfcam is a bad software just a thought to think about.

One of my good friends is the dealer out here and at one time I was asked to teach surfcam.

Price wise they are close. I suggest getting a demo from both dealers to see what fits what type of work you do.

So what type of work do you do?

Thanks CadCam

SRT
06-21-2003, 11:39 AM
Cadcam,
Multiple vises in a row, learning and using rotary tables, would like simulation in 4th axis, solids = near future, cnc lathes, no 3D simultaneous yet, you may see the best descriptions of my wish list in the 1cnc posts.
Thank you.

SRT
06-21-2003, 11:56 AM
Cadcam,
Some other questions that I just thought of is the Emastercam I believe it is called, is that out of Canada by a reseller or is that a forum put on by MC. HQ.?
Is it possible to sign up to just look into it & evaluate MC, without a simms # or is it off limits until you own MC?
Are there any other forums other than the one I mentioned and this forum, that I could investigate, to see what is being talked about MC?

Fish
06-21-2003, 12:10 PM
It sounds like we do similar kinds of setups as SRT, except on a horizontal. There have been a few things in the past that would certainly benefit from some reprogramming. We have full fourth axis, but no effective way to program it.

We are looking for something that will streamline the reverse engineering process, starting with a cloud of points. Rhino seems to handle that well. But, to decide on software to create the toolpaths is more difficult. We did look at MC, but the files it creates are huge. Our controller is relatively old and we can only get up to about 40 ipm DNC'ing.

I guess the real problem is to find something that we can install, set up, and learn with the minimum of disruption. Larger shops can afford to send guys to training, but small shops like ours need as seemless an intigration as possible, with the easiest to learn software. A tall order, I know.......

Thanks for your reply's guys.

Adam

SRT
06-21-2003, 12:31 PM
Fish,
Running a Horizontal years ago is when I learned all the advantages of 4th axis. In business for myself now, my pockets are too shallow to do that yet but that is on my wish list. There are shops in my area that use MC, but you know how it sometimes has to go, they don't share much info. when they have a good thing, and don't want more competition.
As far as the memory portion of your message, I used subroutines to keep things shorter on the horizontal I was programming, but I had a good deal of background in subs. so it was easy for me. When I checked out MC & others last time they don't support that form much any more, I guess because of larger computer memory on the newer machines. I will tell you that Excalibur still lets you use that capability pretty well, if you know how to do them. They have more buttons to push but that is also allowing you to get to more of a variety of capabilities in many areas where other softwares will possibly choke.