PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Solid CAM file system

mr chris
02-05-2010, 01:25 PM
I'm new to SolidCAM and am really struggling to understand how it deals with files.

From my solid model, SolidCAM seems to have created some new files, including a design model, and a CAM part, inside an assembly.

Firstly I don't really understand why this is necessary, and secondly, how do I then, for example save a particular assembly as another file name. Where does the file(s) go? It seems to dissapear.

It seems very convoluted and is all very confusing. I guess I'm just not understanding the idea behind doing it like this.

On solid works, if i wanted to save as a new name I simply save the file (assembly or part) with a new name. This seems impossible in SolidCAM.

Also, SolidCAM seems to be very UN-parametric. The contours don't seem to update if i change the original part file, and i have to retrace everything. This seems mad! Isn't the point of SolidWorks and CAM that its parametric?

Very confused! Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris.

mattpatt
02-07-2010, 09:10 PM
The design model is referenced to the original part.

If you need to make any changes to a part, then do it to the original part. When you then load up the SC it will see that the referenced model has been altered ans ask if you want to replace the model. You'll then synchronize this new design model and if it hasn't been radically altered then a lot of the selected geometry for profiles etc will remain, but at the new design spec.

I think it's wise not to change the design model in the assembly within SC otherwise you'll lose track of what's going on with the original. Well, I would!

I'm sure others will be able to go a little more in depth than this.

dengo
02-07-2010, 09:24 PM
I agree with Mattpatt. Do any changes to the original SW part that you used to create your SC job. When you open the Cam model again it will recognise the original has been modified and prompt you to continue.