PDA

View Full Version : Toolholder for Porter Cable router



SpookyDad
01-28-2010, 06:15 PM
I have a 24x48 Joes 2006 router and I am using a Porter Cable 1/2" router.

I was wondering if there was some sort of toolholder system that I can use. I am not looking for any sort of automatic tool changer. I would like to be able to change bits manually but keep the same offset.

Is there anything compatible with the Porter Cable routers?

Thanks

SpookyDad

Big-tex
03-24-2010, 01:16 PM
I have not seen anything like it.
You can try using collars or use screen set that I have posted in mach3 section that will make you life easier. look for tool setter

spoiledbrat
03-25-2010, 08:36 AM
http://www.cnczone.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=1931&title=4-axis-homebrew&cat=all

I had a friend turn these for me. We used the stock collet nut, and the stock retention clip. I have had excellent results from them.

Instead of using a setscrew, we are using High temp loc-tite (red tube). No failures, and I have over 1000 hrs running them.

I do not have a lathe, and cannot make them for you. But they can be made!

Rob

lancut
03-25-2010, 09:56 PM
Could you post a better picture of one holder? Thanks.

spoiledbrat
03-25-2010, 10:29 PM
http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26709

I think I posted pics in there somewhere. I will keep looking.

EDIT: found it. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36217

My friend is a machinist (professional hobby, anyway), and hates production work. I am definitely not trying to sell these. Just wanted to make them available to others, at his price.

They do work great, and as long as I am using a porter cable, I will be using these.

Remember: RED loc-tite. Blue stuff will fail. You will need a torch to remove the cutters if they break or wear.

Regards,

Rob