PDA

View Full Version : brazing/ soldering 304SS to 303SS

yantra3d
01-23-2010, 02:31 PM
I have a .1 thick 304 SS pipe (3/4" OD) that I would like to braze/solder to a 7/32" rod of type 303 ASTM-A582 stainless. Is there any reason why these two types cannot be joined together or should it not be a problem?

The joint doesn't require a lot of strength so would it actually be possible to solder these two together or will they require brazing? Also, what temp would you recommend?

I'm new to this so any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

keebler303
01-27-2010, 10:13 PM
I've silver soldered stainless using acid flux, worked quite well, just use plenty of flux to keep the oxides cleaned off. They don't recommend welding 303 but I'm not sure about brazing or soldering. I have welded 303 without too much trouble before. Its probably not a real strong joint but for non structural applications I'm sure its fine.

Matt

Geof
01-28-2010, 12:15 AM
Silver solder will work quite well. The correct temperature for silver soldering is just on the edge of red hot; if you can see it glowing red you have overshot. Actually the best indicator is the flux because when it melts and flows over the surface then the temperature is just about correct to melt the silver solder.

yantra3d
01-28-2010, 10:38 PM
Thanks a lot for the info guys... I really appreciate that.

I was originally planning on buying an oxy-acetaline rig to braze with but I came across those smaller and less expensive benzomatic rigs that use propane or maap gas, do you guys have any experience with those? Would it be worth considering and if so which would you recommend, propane or maap? I guess I should do some more research on silver soldering and see which one would work best for the stainless.

Geof
01-28-2010, 11:10 PM