PDA

View Full Version : Let's see If I can build this Router

Catapultsup
04-04-2005, 12:30 AM
First of all a little about myself, I'm a Machinist Mate in the U.S. Navy and have been so for the last 17.5 yrs ( Title doesn't mean I'm an actual machinist but I get to turn a lot of wrenches :D and I work in some of the hottest enviroments on the ship (flame2) ).

I learned about this site from another DIY site. ( Lumenlab) another member of both sites directed me to this site.

After lurking around CNC zone for a couple of months, learning what I can. I decided that my first router will follow Jrgo's plans.

Over the last couple of days I've broken down , opened my very thin wallet and started getting the parts and some tools needed to build it.

Here is a list of what I have so far.

1/4 20 rod ( enough for all three axis)
1" black gas pipe 48" x 2
1/2" black gas pipe 30" x2
1/2" black gas pipe 18" x2
1/2" thick piece of polyethyline cutting board 18"x 14".
8ft 1/8" thick 1 1/4" aluminum channel
100 skate bearings ( I know its way more than I needed but good price 5.00 on ebay)
A tap and die set
Drill bits
Dial venere caliper ( to measure the .433, and the .465 needed on the aluminum angle bars)
spring loaded center punch.
A drill because my last one kicked the bucket on me a week ago.
Will be picking up the MDF tomorrow.

And I'll keep you posted on my progress. it will be a while before I'm finished as I have other obligations. :frown:

buscht
04-04-2005, 08:53 AM
Good luck and keep us posted.

stevec
04-04-2005, 10:23 PM
Looking forward to seeing your progress. I made one and was in dout when I started too, but all worked out well.

Catapultsup
04-11-2005, 04:58 PM
Today friend of mine was cleaning out his garage and low and behold I now have all the bolts nuts and screws needed as per the JRGO plans All separated by size and pitch.

Catapultsup
04-12-2005, 08:51 PM