PDA

View Full Version : G-Code for F



Serb
12-25-2009, 06:54 PM
For some reason my ArtCAM is generating a g-code for a plunge feed rate "F" as a "0" (zero) when I had it set it to "0.25". The Post processor I used was mach2_inch. It's no big deal to replace it in Notepad by replacing all F0 with F0.25 but I was just wondering if F can handle a decimal number like X, Y, and Z?

SBC Cycle
12-30-2009, 06:07 PM
I suppose it is dependant on the controller (Mach for you?) but I would think decimals are a necessity.

What I suspect is that ArtCAM's post is rounding the feed off. Try a feed of 1.25 and see if ends up as 1

I don't have ArtCAM so this is just a guess, see what it does.

Larken
02-16-2010, 09:27 PM
I pretty sure Feeds are an Integer.

CNCRim
02-17-2010, 12:38 PM
First thing I think when read I thought the same as Larken/ or the post is rounding the number. Try F0.55 and see if getting F1.

ger21
02-17-2010, 12:48 PM
You should be able to modify the post to output decimals.