PDA

View Full Version : replacing maho monitor



pirke86
12-18-2009, 07:23 PM
Because the old crt on my maho mh400c 432 is a bit worn i was thinking of replacing it with a tft.
I've heard this is possible using a CGA-VGA converter like the one from this website: http://www.ambery.com/rgbcgatovgac.html
Does anyone have any experience with such a thing?
Is it really just hook it up and it works?

pirke86
12-22-2009, 04:40 AM
nobody knows the answer?

AndreasL
12-22-2009, 04:52 AM
Guess you found out about it at PM?

Thats the only one I have heard of doing this and I know some of the "experts" have tried to suorce a device such as the Amber-converter for a long time. So when a new memeber to the forum tossed this one in when presenting hims elf and his new machine, it was some droped jaws. ;)

But there are some things about this conversion about where it works and not. You have to read the post about this and find out exactley what it is. But otherwise it should be more or less p n' p as far as I can tell.

*Hmmm, strange that I'm the one to answer all thoes questions. Since when did I become an Maho-expert???!!! ;) Just saying that double check everything your selfe befor spending time and mooney, ´cos its most likley that I'm wrong from time to time.

thebodger@roger
12-22-2009, 10:06 PM
Old maho monitors were not compatipble with the VGA standard or CGA as far as I know. I have looked at the signals (the sync pulses) , and have found this is something that a regular monitor can not sync up to. I know a group at the U of T made up a interface for it. I was working for maho at the time and they were most pissed off at me for the price of a cheap repacement CRTfrom maho. I encouraged them to persue a cheap fix. I know they succedded, now days DMG offers a LCD replacement, but as usual it is highway robbery

AndreasL
12-23-2009, 04:03 AM
Its the very low frequency of the OEM-part thats the problem I think?

I understod it as for Mahos the Ambery worked, at least with some sort of LCD.

Haven tried it my selfe so this is just second hand information from a forum thread showing one guy that got it to work.

Actually I have one of those "new" LCD from DMG in my machine. Guess its worth more the the rest of the machine alone. :eek:

underthetire
12-23-2009, 11:23 AM
This response may or may not help...
We have a LOT of old Deckels here, and we have gotton a LCD replacement form Don Sentner, the Deckel doctor. The Deckels also had a weird frequency as well. Ours of coarse all have Dialog controls.

cncmm
12-23-2009, 11:46 AM
http://www.industrial-panels.com/contact_us.htm
These are the guys to get and LCD panel from for the Maho.
If you send them the /crt chassis and all they will mount the LCD in the old chassis for you .....cost 1250.00

pirke86
12-24-2009, 03:11 PM
still a lot of money for something that shouldn't cost more than a couple hundred bucks...

Jitze
12-29-2009, 09:34 AM
Ask Unis in Grou www.unisgroup.com.
These guys are real handy with repair en modification of end of life electronics.
They aren't expensive.
They will give you a price first and then they will do the job. So no suprises.

pirke86
01-05-2010, 10:47 AM
apparently it can be done with this:
http://www.converters.tv/products/cga_to_pal/68.html
It's a cga to composite/s-video converter.
since a lot of mondern screens have an composite video s-video input this should work perfectly with a modern screen.

there are a few more converters on their website that would probably work.

pirke86
01-05-2010, 11:08 AM
i think i found the answer!!
http://www.jammaboards.com/store/cga/ega/yuv-to-vga-converter-pcb-gbs-8220/prod_291.html
this looks to be perfect for the job...