PDA

View Full Version : AC/DC TIG to MIG ?



15mgtar
10-24-2009, 12:39 AM
Hi all this I have a stupid question. Is it possible to convert my AC/DC TIG to MIG?

Nastyzen
10-24-2009, 10:36 PM
Why mess up your tig when you can pick up a small hobart mig for 600 bucks

Ark1
10-25-2009, 09:14 PM
Hi all this I have a stupid question. Is it possible to convert my AC/DC TIG to MIG?

All you need is a wire feeder with torch. You will still need a gas bottle and regulator. Look on ebay you may find just what you are looking for used for under $300. The wire feeder has cables that connect to your out put connections on your Tig machine. That being said you did not indicate how big or small of a weld you want to do. Small mig machines are around for $600 and weld in the 100 to 120 AMP range on the high end 30 amps on the low. But if you are trying to weld some 1/4" alum. plate this machine isn't big enough. Your tig machine if it has a greater output will be of great benifit with just a wire feeder.

TonyK.