PDA

View Full Version : Example of Live Tool Engraving w/ Surfcam



bdyenter
07-13-2009, 03:17 PM
:cheers:

Does anyone have something they could post where they did a rotary axis engraving part on the C-Axis with Surfcam? I also need a Live Tool Post too.

I looking to learn a few things:

How to draw and set-up a C-View for a cylinder. Extract Text to the Cylinder. Then correctly tool-path the Text and post to Fanuc.

sinderal
11-01-2009, 02:51 AM
If You just have the cylinder and Text and text poistion

1. Please keyin the Text string at that start position and explode the Text string (True Type Font and explode to geometries)

2. Use 2 Axis controur or pocket to engrave the Text.

3. NC Operation --> Transform Operation --> Wrap On Cylinder
Wrap the 2 Axis Tool Path on a cylinder you need.

Alll you need is a Living Tool mill/Turn SPost.


Besides, if your text string at some Flat plane on the Cylinder, then just create that Flat Plane CView and program a Item#1 and Item#2

BigBeau
02-27-2010, 05:01 PM
Doing the facing engraving is so easy, but when trying to do a the O.D engraving accross the dia. I have a problem with the program. If anyone could help me with a step by step instruction it would be very helpful.. I'm still running MasterCam 9.
Thanks... Beau

BigBeau
02-27-2010, 05:44 PM
if your doing face engraving draw everything in sideview and plan.. contour letter's and ur done. that is if ur using MasterCam.?

sinderal
02-28-2010, 11:34 PM
Doing the facing engraving is so easy, but when trying to do a the O.D engraving accross the dia. I have a problem with the program. If anyone could help me with a step by step instruction it would be very helpful.. I'm still running MasterCam 9.
Thanks... Beau

Please read my explain on above for O.D. engraving.

jetpig1
06-27-2012, 04:02 PM
Anyone ever engrave on a conic section ? I have the conic section around the X axis, and the lettering is done in Solidworks, but I have yet to figure out how to get this to work......

moldcore
06-27-2012, 08:10 PM
4 axis or 3 axis?

jetpig1
06-27-2012, 10:31 PM
figured it out, 4 axis contour works well. You have to select the guide surfaces separately each time you select a contour... painfully meticulous, but works.
This is with Surfcam ..