PDA

View Full Version : Keling cnc NEMA 23 Servo package experience



schwinndk
06-22-2009, 03:45 PM
H everyone,

I am new to the whole cnc building and where wondering if any of you have any experience in the cnc package from Keling: NEMA 23 Servo Motors 3 Axis CNC Kit

John´s answers quite quick, but I never get the info on all the questions I ask for. Therfore I hope you can help me out before I order.

Is this cnc package a good choice? I mean is the servo so mush better then the stepper in this case? I will mostly be milling wood and alu parts on a mashine 1500x900x150mm. Software is March3...

What other parts would I be needing when ordering from John then what´s included in the cnc package:?

A casing for all the parts?, wires? plugs etc. etc. There is no need to order twice since I live all the way in Denmark. Better get it right the first time:)


My plan is to use a Kress1050 as spindle and was also wondering if this can be connected to the board for start/stop and speed controll? Anyone knows?

Hope you can help me out.. Thanks for now.. You can see the mashine on my weppage: www.schwinndk.dk under WORK/solidworks

Thanks for now.

jalessi
06-22-2009, 04:09 PM
Schwinndk,

Servo's will provide much better high speed performance.

Starting and stopping the Kress will be easy, a solid state relay connected to one of the outputs on the breakout board is all that would need.

The speed control will be difficult since the Kress has a built in solid state control.

Jeff...

ger21
06-22-2009, 06:55 PM
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't a 12.5 amp power supply way too little for 3 20amp peak servos?? Seems like you'd never be able to get the peak torque from even a single servo, let alone all 3?

amplexus
06-22-2009, 08:10 PM
Gerry has a good point however a big torroid, high current bridge and big filter cap is all you need to build your own.
Amplexus Ender

schwinndk
06-23-2009, 02:31 AM
Thanks guys for the reply. So you are telling me that I will at least need a 48v/20A power supply to get these babyes up running full power?
http://www.epn-online.com/page/31413/48v-20a-power-supplies-output-voltage-freely-adjustable-from-30-to-56v.html

Jalessi: Thanks.. I will look into this solid state control when everything is up and running. But it sounds like an easy task. :)

Is there anything else I will be missing from that cnc package other than a bigger power supply?

Kim

jalessi
06-23-2009, 03:24 AM
http://www.antekinc.com/PS-10N56R.pdf

schwinndk
06-23-2009, 04:42 AM
Thanks.. You are up early...:)

I believe the PS-10N56R5R12 would be the one to go for.. Is 56VDC not to mush? I know the servos says 60V/20A in peak... But why is it then only a smaller 48V/12.5 that is supplied..hmm

I found this one on his site: http://www.kelinginc.net/KL-5020.pdf
It looks like it´s from the same producer anywayz..... But this on looks like you can ajust the Amps to reduce the servo tourqe witch can be helpful if it needs to be ajusted down. Or is this wrong?

Kim