PDA

View Full Version : This CNC system sucks "There has to be a Better Way"

robwhi
06-21-2009, 09:07 AM
I am not sure if this is the right forum but I will try

I think the way to make a part or do some simple machining with the current run of systems and software I have looked at sucks.

Let me give a little of my background
Computers and everyday work
I have fully automatic machines as well as semi CNC style machines we run everyday " I own my own small company". I have been on computers since the early Eighty's or late 70's when we didn't even have a hard drive and had to load Dos via floppy's. I have no issue with using computers or software . I might add I hate spread sheets as I recon a database is more efficient and less work. I also have Cad experience

Trade

I am a machinist by trade as well as a Engine machinist and Diesel fitter. My particular specialty is Grinding and Honing.

My Beef is that just doing a simple machine job on the CNC is just plain ridiculously hard . I can manual cut a thread or Key way and Most Milling Jobs by the Time I even make a G-code and set the tool.
I can cut a thread in about a Min or 2 . At the moment I couldn't even get a programme ready in that time.

I hope I can start a discussion as there must be a easier way. I Can train someone at work to Run a CNC wire processing machine and produce jobs in Probably half a Day. There is no way I would make a dent with some one with Mach 3 just to do a simple job. I might be missing a fair bit so please enlighten me how to?

Cut a thread on a CNC as a Job situation in less than 5 Mins or or face a
Aluminum or steel block in about 5 Mins or even cut a keyway?

There has to be a better Way to use these suckers arrgh

svenakela
06-21-2009, 09:46 AM
Well, high tech is not always the best. Sometimes a manual operation is faster. But if you want to do that cycle 1500 times, the programming time is peanuts.

wjfiles
06-21-2009, 10:02 AM