PDA

View Full Version : Relating to Academics

nickm85
01-13-2005, 07:14 PM
I'm a mechanical engineering student trying to tie a cnc router into something academic so that I can build it for an independent study and get credit, any ideas? Apparently I can' just build something for the sake of building it, which I think is the main reson for building anything! So far I've come up with measuring the strain on the rails but that's about it. Are there any common problems that people have that could quantitatively measured and analyzed? Thanks for any suggestions...

Al_The_Man
01-13-2005, 07:38 PM
I guess it ties in with the mechanical engineering of a CNC machine, that is the calculation of motor sizing and any reduction required based on the desired acceleration/deceleration of the machine in order to size the motor based on the industry recommended practice of sizing the servo motor so that the inertia to load ratio is less than to 10:1 or less than 3:1 for a stepper, to become familiar with this concept there are two links that may help http://www.electromate.com/technicalsupport/?c=kollmorgansoftware
and register on this site and download the AC servo handbook at www.motiononline.com
hope this helps.
Al

TinkerDJ
01-13-2005, 11:29 PM