PDA

View Full Version : Newbie hobbycnc EZ driver???

javidana
02-20-2009, 11:04 PM
Hello all!

Once again the wonderful internet communities comes to my aid, where would I be without them. I'm planning on building a CNC router with a dremel and parts from www.stappenmotor.nl

I'm a complete newbie to begin with and I have a couple of questions. here they are

what will need to get starting with the hobbycnc EZ driver besides solder equipment, power supply and cables?

I've seen a lot of really cheap stepper drivers on the net but they only drive one stepper what do I do if I wanna control 3 stepper and what will i need?

this may sound really stupid but I'm really confused what is the difference between a controller and a driver? or is it the same thing? if not does this meen that I need some extera electronics for my hobbycnc EZ driver?

Sorry about the question salvo...

Thanks in advance

jalessi
02-21-2009, 03:10 AM
Javidana,

The terms "Drive" or "Driver" and "Controller" are one and the same however a "Controller" may control or drive more than one axis.

Other than the the HobbyCNC EZ Driver, you will need a D.C. power supply a computer with a parallel port, a parallel port cable and of course compatible unipolar stepper motors.

Welcome to the Zone,

Jeff...

javidana
02-21-2009, 01:50 PM
thanks for sorting that out for me Jeff :)

If I would to buy one of those cheaper single stepper drivers how could I connect all 3-4 of them to my parallel pc port? and what would I need to make them compatible with say Mach3 for an example?

Does anyone know where I could buy a cheap controller for 3 or 4 axis within EU? Hobbycnc seems a little bit of a waste of money for me. The driver costs 65$, the shipping is 60$ and plus 50% extra counting with costume expences for all purchase outside of the European Union... that's 1,5X more than what the driver cost...

Thanks

javidana
02-21-2009, 02:46 PM