PDA

View Full Version : Building Joe's '06

bkboggy
02-15-2009, 07:58 PM
So, I finally got Joe's '06 kit and, eventhough a bit scared, will probably do it myself because it's more fun that way. If something goes wrong I'll probably bug Kent, lol

One question I have so far:

Why is the torsion box offset to the left? The cutouts that hold pipes on the right are longer than the ones on the left.

Glueing things together. The DWG files are very self-explanatory after I studied them. I'll post pictures soon.

-BK

Edit: Just noticed that on R-2 plans the torsion box is flipped the other way, any reason for that? The left side is longer then the right (pipe holder things).

Edit#2: It seems that both plans are named R-2, one has more of the pipe holders on the right and one has them on the left. I assume I want them on the left because the box to the right (on the gantry assembly) is offesting the torsion box. So having the longer holders on the left will put it in the middle. Am I right?

calgrdnr
02-15-2009, 08:48 PM
Bogdan,

Sent you an Email .. Make sure to dry fit everything.. take plenty of pictures. Have fun ... You can come by anytime look at mine and will always try to answer all your questions and help when ever I can

Kent

bkboggy
02-15-2009, 10:46 PM
Thanks, Kent. Hope you get better soon.

-BK

bkboggy
02-16-2009, 02:32 AM
Did any of you guys apply any sort of glue for hdpe or just bolted it on without any adheseve? I'm using Probond to glue MDF.

joecnc2006
02-16-2009, 03:07 AM
Yes having the torsion box off centered makes up the difference of the Bearing Block Housing and centers it within the Gantry.

bkboggy
02-18-2009, 02:15 AM
Makes sense.

Hey, I'm confused on the aluminum angles required for the tracks. Manual says: 1-1/4"x1-1/4"x1/8" Aluminum When I went to the store they looked at me like deer in the headlights..... I'm a newbie, so I don't understand those dimensions and could not explain it to them.