PDA

View Full Version : Boring Pulleys

Moondog
12-13-2004, 08:52 PM
Being a new machinist I need to bore some Alum toothed pulleys , with and without flanges. Need to bore them to 12mm. Pulley sizes are 30mm and 90mm. I do have access to a Mill.

Questions:

1. What is the best method to hold the pulleys in a 3 jaw chuck so it doesn't get damaged and secure.

2. Need to fit Keyways. Don't have a broaching set. What other methods could I use. Could I use an End Mill and then square up the slot with a file or as someone suggested putting a piece of tool steel in the lathe tool post and take incremental cuts for the keyway.

3. Last question. On a 12mm shaft what would the max size I should make the keyway. Would 1/4 inch be too big?...

Any other suggestions or advice appreciated.

cheers

Frans

Konrad
12-13-2004, 09:19 PM
The best method to hold your pulleys is to machine soft jaws to about .005 smaller then the size you are holding, or same size.
If you have no soft jaws, I would use some brass shim's on your jaws and clamp very lightly, don't take heavy cuts.
As for putting keyway in, I used to put a HSS partoff blade in the tool post and slotted the keys this way.[Before I had my Slotter] You might have to grind it first to the correct size..about .0005 undersize, make sure, the blade sits nice and parallel, dial it up with a indicator, you can tilt the blade in such a way that you have clearance to the back.
Take about .003 at the time, use some tapping fluid and at the end of the stroke, move the tool away from the cut, before you travel back.
It looks like, a 1/8" keyway is about the right size.
Konrad

Moondog
12-13-2004, 09:31 PM
Thanks for your quick reply Konrad.

How do you machine soft jaws. Are they made from Alum?... Do they replace existing Jaws or do they fit over the existing jaws.

1/8 keyway.. I'll get some keyway that size.. thanks.

For the slots. Could I use an 1/8 square tool steel, appropriately sharpened?...

HuFlungDung