PDA

View Full Version : Providing draft and pattern plate

Photon713
02-06-2009, 08:09 PM
Good Evening, all...

I have a pattern for casting. The companies are asking for a 2-3% draft. A couple requested a pattern plate. My pattern has straight sides all around...1/2 to 1 inch thick. It would be difficult to add draft top and bottom. So, thinking of solving both problems by slicing the pattern into two pieces, providing the necessary draft and providing a pattern plate. I've no experience with pattern plates. My first inclination is to mount both halves on 1/4 inch Lexan so I can see what I'm doing. Perhaps I can drill small holes through the piece before I slice it to allow alignment through the plate. So, the questions are -- is there a standard size for a pattern plate? Is there a recommended way to mount both halves so they are properly aligned? What material is normally used for the plate? My pattern is wood. Thanks for any suggestions.

rapidtraverse
02-06-2009, 09:27 PM
Regarding your draft. Have you considered a draft End mill? They come in a variety of sizes with 3% draft designed for this very purpose.

Photon713
02-06-2009, 11:05 PM
Thanks rapidtraverse...I've been searching the web since your reply. Do you know who carries them? I had no luck in my search...Thanks

beone
02-07-2009, 08:26 PM
I often use 1/4 plexi for pattern plates, in my own 8x12 flasks. Most foundries will use 18x18 flasks and the plexi will be too flexible. Check with thhe foundry for what flask they use. What are you casting? size? material? quantity?
Dave

Photon713
02-07-2009, 10:23 PM
Thanks, beone...