PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Newbie starting from square one with big project

SMichelsen
02-05-2009, 10:49 AM
Greetings,
I am a complete newbie at vacuforming, but I --believe-- that it may the best answer for my project. I have discussed this project at yahoo's casting group, and some folks there have steered me towards vacuforming. Here is what I am up against:

After years of looking for one, I have a large vinyl item, a "rear panel lining" for my classic car, a Honda 600 Coupe. Please see the links below for some pictures. It is about 10” x 45” x 6". I have no experience in vacuforming but am interested in reproducing this rare, thin, brittle item. I am concerned that the one I have won't survive long!

My idea is to make a one-sided mold (that would hold up under multiple uses), and then use vacuforming to create reproductions. Only one side needs to look good (with vinyl’s texture, shine and color) as the other side faces into the back wall of the car. From what I have read of vacuforming, my negative "buck" will be mostly female shaped, with the plastic being pulled into the cavity. Fortunately the item has two large holes at what would be the bottom of the negative. I am hesitant to drill additional holes; I hope that will not be necessary.

I would really appreciate some direction as to materials and techniques to use to make the mold and set up a vacuforming table, and how to not destroy the original in the process! Any input here is much appreciated.

Here is a question: Is it possible to use VINYL as the plastic to be heated and pulled? I have read of thermoplastics, ABS, etc, but I am concerned that vacuforming may not reproduce the texture of the original vinyl across the whole item, so using vinyl itself would certainly fix that! Then I could make a mold of the bottom of the original, which is smooth, yet has all the contours of the top, and vacuform the vinyl with the texture face up.