PDA

View Full Version : New to Shop Sabre

rrrevels
12-10-2008, 08:56 AM
Good Morning,

A friend and I just bought a used 4860 Shop Sabre off Ebay. The machine is 2 years old and appears to be in great condition. It has ac servos and a 5hp spindle. It came with WinCNC installed on the computer.

I have been going through the documentation on WinCNC and am still not sure how it works. It appears to not use any of the standard M codes, ie M00, M01, M03, M06 etc. I have to remove all my tool change code from a file in order for it to run. I don't have an atc, I just use the M00 to stop the program while I change bits manually. Is there something I am missing with WinCNC?

I have been using Mach3 for a couple of years on a 24" x 36" homebuilt router and also a Taig mill. I have a WidgitMaster Midi router running Mach3 also.

We ran the axes a couple of days ago and they work very well. Hopefully the phase converter for the spindle will be up and running in a couple of days. I am anxious to see it run and cut parts.

I look forward to a lot of use from the Shop Sabre.

Russ
Pensacola, Fl

pescado_loco
12-11-2008, 12:56 AM
I finished all the wiring for the outlet to the VFD from the phase converter today. All the we need to do is change out the breaker to the phase converter to the 100 amp breaker and the 30HP rotary phase converter should be ready to go. Then we can get the wide belt sander up & running. I bought copper pipe to get air to the sander & router without snaking rubber hose all over.

I'm rrrevels friend that went in with him to buy the 4860 Shopsabre. We are both very anxious to get the machine running & making parts.

We have a few challenges ahead of us.
The first challenge is dust collection. From what I've read in the Forum, Shopsabre's dust collection attachment is not effective. We would like to see what others have done. Our machine is sporting a 5hp Colombo spindle.