PDA

View Full Version : Screw Drive garage door opener

Kevin McFarl
11-04-2004, 03:28 AM
Hello all i am new to cnc
I am just starting to get ideas of building one of my own
I was just wondering if a srew drive type garage door openner would work in place of a stepper or a servo motor.

You have almost every thing you need to start with motor,screw,carage nut ect.

Any info would be helpful

Thanks all
Kevin

Alan T.
11-04-2004, 10:08 AM
It would not be very accurate. Ton's of backlash. You would also have to change the motor drive.

Cliff_J
11-04-2004, 11:04 AM
Kevin, I've got one and it also binds pretty easy if not lubed up, not a great attribute on top of the loose tolerances everywhere and flimsy construction. To add an encoder to use as a servo drive seems a big waste.

You'd be better off with a DIY bearing like found all over on this site and even an allthread screw.

Kevin McFarl
11-04-2004, 11:35 AM
Thank alot.
I am new to all of this so i dont know what i am doing yet.
I have some more ideas i am thinking about.

lurch
11-10-2004, 11:10 PM
Keep the ideas coming, bad ideas should get shot full of holes quickly here(lots of experience to draw from). Learning from others mistakes is really easier than making your own. The ideas that make it through the culling process should be good, solid ideas. You may even come up with some out of the box new ideas, that change the way we do this CNC thing.....!

High Seas
11-11-2004, 01:50 PM
I'll let you all know in about 6 months or more. Got a couple screwdrives from a few different sources. I like the setup possibilities - there are some differences - I note the rail from Craftsman (Sears) has some backlash - but the Genie seems to have very little "slop". They have differen pitch (TPI) and a different setup for the drive. There may be some backlash- but should make a pretty nice foam cutting rig - gotta cut some wings when I return from downunder! Reports when I get to it. Cheers - Jim

Physisist777