PDA

View Full Version : Z-axis finish



hpmor
09-23-2008, 12:21 PM
hi,
I am cutting an angle so far I use z axis rough and it cut in step. To remove the step I use z axis finish and choose a ball mill but there I struggle. I have attach the part here with.
While using z axis finish it finishes in whole periphery instead of just on that angle face and I been also unable to select the perfect depth.

chmillman
09-23-2008, 03:28 PM
Hi,

You need to create a boundary curve to contain the tool. Then in the operation cut control tab, check use boundaries and select the chain when asked. As far as hitting the correct Z bottom, I usually just put the value in the minimum Z value box on the same tab - perhaps at a hundredth of a mm or two higher so the tool just doesn't touch...

In your image you might also be able to use two "Cut" operations on the angle faces with check clearances and specify the flat surface as a "surface to avoid". There's not enough detail in your image to see what is going on in the "recess". --ch

hpmor
09-25-2008, 01:46 PM
Thank you very much.