PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Paralleling stepper motors



kevin mey
07-24-2008, 03:30 PM
Greetings, can anyone advise me if stepper motors of the same specifications can be paralleled ?
Regards,Kevin

boboxx
07-25-2008, 02:32 PM
What software are you using?? if you are in Mach3, look under "Config > Slave Axis"

Torchhead
07-25-2008, 09:20 PM
Greetings, can anyone advise me if stepper motors of the same specifications can be paralleled ?
Regards,Kevin


If you mean running both off the same motor drive then the answer is no. Since motors are generators as well as torque devices the cross action will cause problems.

If you mean on separate drives then they can be "slaved" as listed in the other response.