PDA

View Full Version : 5'X18' Table

Flapjac
08-30-2004, 09:56 AM
I presently have a small cabinet shop and have the opportinunity to expand, this will require a CNC router able to handle large sheets of HDPE (5' X 18' X 3/8" thick). I would appreciate any advice on the pros and cons of attempting a project like this.

Rack & Pinon or belt- 2 drives on the X ?
Any Ideas/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

JRoque
08-30-2004, 03:40 PM
Hi. I'm no expert but you might be better off building (3) 5'x6' machines than one 5'x18'. I can imagine the error alone at 18' will make the machine impractical. Three machines in line will be manageable and way faster.

Regards,
Julio

DDM
08-30-2004, 07:21 PM
I'd say go for the 5'X18' router. Take a look at the Shop bot (correct me if I'm wrong), it shouldn't take anything to make it 3 times the length. For the drive, I would go rack and pinion on one side and on that side make it so the gantry can't skew. Our school has a plasma cutter that's got a 12 foot bed on there that can get within 10 thou easy. When building it a lazer level would probably be nice because chunks of iron 20 feet long can flex quite a bit. Umm can't think of much more right now other than I like big pieces of equipment. :cheers:

DSL PWR
08-30-2004, 07:32 PM
Just look at how plasma tables are built.

ynneb
08-30-2004, 07:45 PM
Am I reading wrongly? Does 18' mean 18 feet? 6 Metres ?
Does raw material actually come that long?
It must weigh a ton. How long is the longest piece you plan on cutting?
Would it be better to cut the sheet down each time to suit a smaller table?

DSL PWR
08-30-2004, 09:10 PM
You can get steel plate in 8'x20' and it is set on plasma tables. I've seen machines that could handle 2 full sheets. Once you have the width in a gantry with rack and pinion, you can build the machine as long as you want!

Flapjac
08-30-2004, 11:20 PM
ynneb,