PDA

View Full Version : Can a 3ph input VFD Hitachi J100 run on 1ph ?



maquiza
04-01-2008, 07:10 PM
Hello, Can I use only 1 phase to run a 3 phase VFD? In the manual, in one part of the standard specification, it say "rated input Ac voltage" and then : *single-phase 200 to 220V/200 to 230V +-10%, 50/60HZ +-5%
*three-phase 380 to 415/400 to 460V +-10%, 50/60HZ +-5%
But this is the only mention for a single phase.
The model is J100-037-FLU and it´s for 5HP.
Thanks,

Jorge

BoBo blade
06-06-2008, 10:09 PM
I am looking at a J 150 and it is supposed to work off of single phase.

Karl_T
06-06-2008, 10:18 PM
No problem. i have several Hitachi on 1 phase input.

maquiza
08-25-2008, 04:04 PM
Karl,

Are you using the J100 for 5HP in 1Ph?? or other model.

Jorge

Karl_T
08-25-2008, 10:37 PM
I've got 2 5hp hitachi's on single phase input and one 10 hp on single phase input. Two of the units are SJ100 series, I'm not sure of the third. I did return an SJ300 because it has a sensor for power on all three input legs and will shut down if one is not present. I later learned its easy to just bypass this by hooking one hot leg to two spots on the VFD input.

Karl

mactec54
08-26-2008, 12:52 AM
Hi Maquiza

The drive voltage input has to match like 220/240 3phase then you can run it on single phase which would be 220/240 single phase that is 2 hot legs & you may be able to put a jumper from the first hot leg input to the 3 unused terminal this somtimes is not needed your drive is a 3 phase drive & is not listed by Hitachi to be used on single phase I would try the 2 wire input (HOT WIRES) to start if it does not run jumper 1 to 3 terminal

Do not put a Neutral wire on any of the input terminals or your drive will be toast make sure you have the ground wire connected were it needs to be

Cristi
08-30-2008, 05:27 AM
Hi
u should take in account one possible issue. the DC bus filter capacitors are rated for 3 phase, which implies 300Hz (360Hz) ripple. if u use only 2 phase, the ripple will be just 100Hz (120Hz). the maximum ripple current may be over the rated ripple current of the capacitors, which will shorten their service life. also the voltage ripple on the bus will be higher, due to lower filtering capacitance corresponding to the ripple frequency. at maximum power also the hold-up time can be shorter than normal and the drive could experience undervoltage faults. at some of the VFD u have access from outside to both positive and negative capacitors connections, and can add external capacitor bank. for this, need to read and fully understand the drive documentation.

maquiza
02-19-2009, 09:31 PM
Mactec54, you are absolutly right. I did it just has you mentioned. I also tried another hitachi for 60HP 220V, and it worked with the jumper from 2 to 3 leg. I did this because it was displaying phase loss error. The 5HP did not need the jumper.
I just test them without a motor, but they were doing OK, ramp start, ramp stop, etc..

Maquiza

damiens
05-20-2009, 12:50 PM
Most vfd manufacturers' micro/sub-micro drives have single phase input options.

damiens
05-26-2009, 11:55 AM
Hitachi J100 series is obsolete. You can use L100 series or X200 series instead now.

http://www.ctiautomation.net/PDF/Hitachi/Hitachi-L100-Variable-Speed-Drives.pdf

http://www.ctiautomation.net/PDF/Hitachi/Hitachi-X200-AC-Drives.pdf