PDA

View Full Version : Okuma OSP 3000L problems



hsimola
03-30-2008, 04:41 PM
Hello!

Any advices for problems with my Okuma.

Control panel 7-segment led display is not working.

All error lights are ON at control panel. No error lights at cabin.

How I could detect which are NC control tapes #1,2 ?

Which boards should I try replace ?

All tips wellcome.

See pictures :

http://www.dynomec.com/product/IMG_01016.JPG
http://www.dynomec.com/product/IMG_01277.JPG

BR,

Harri

RODMAN
03-31-2008, 01:16 PM
Harri,
Check the CPU Status LED's on the OSC-4 Computer. What do they say? While you are at it, check the 5v, 12v, 15v, 24v & -5v to make sure they are correct.

Has this machine been running in your shop, or is it new to you?

Rodman

hsimola
03-31-2008, 01:28 PM
Hello!

That basic test is done, no problems and status led's are as should be. CPU is running.

1 year ago it didn't worked anymore after night, it have been running until that day.

BR;

Harri


Harri,
Check the CPU Status LED's on the OSC-4 Computer. What do they say? While you are at it, check the 5v, 12v, 15v, 24v & -5v to make sure they are correct.

Has this machine been running in your shop, or is it new to you?

Rodman

hsimola
03-31-2008, 01:30 PM
Could problem be that core moemory board is empty? batteries dead? those shows 3 V now when not connected to cpu rack.

RODMAN
03-31-2008, 05:39 PM
Harri,

3 volts is OK to retain memory normally as long as it is left connected.

What is the part number on your CMOS (core) memory board?

If you send me a PM with your E-mail address I will send you two troubleshooting guides.

Rodman

hsimola
03-31-2008, 11:42 PM
Okuma core memory part number is : E4809-045-048C

Here is my email : harri.simola(at)raute.com

I have had this Okuma about 5 years, last 3 years it have been malfunctioned.

I have tried to replace IF12 card and also those 2 cards on control panel. Replacement cards were from LC-30 model, same part numbers except version letter was newer.

hsimola
03-31-2008, 11:45 PM
I can take more photos, numbers or make tests with scope if needed.

OKUMA Tech
04-02-2008, 12:27 AM
from past experience if you replace the core memory or upgrade from bubble to c-mos, you will need to run what is known as a clear tape. Run the clear tape first, then power down and back up. { this is what formatts your memory for a OSP software load} Next run tape #1 this in most cases is the shorter of the 2 tapes, then run tape #2. Now power down and back up.
56816

hsimola
04-02-2008, 12:32 AM
I have tried to read Tape in, but it stops as soon as code/parameters starts on tape.

So, should I try replacing "core memory" board on CPU rack?

hsimola
04-02-2008, 12:35 AM
With Okuma came 2 tapes, one is paper light green and another is almost black/grey.

How can I detect are those really control tapes and not program tapes?

Thanks about all advices so far.