PDA

View Full Version : 4 x8 Plasma and Router



lamicron
03-10-2008, 08:04 AM
We started this second machine with some changes , and have to make it in one month. The works began the 14th of feb.
Will use a waterbed, 1160 oz/in motors for X and Y and 495 for Z. Rails and blocks from Hiwin for the Y and Z, and Roton screw for the Z. gear and rack for X and Y.

Mongkol
03-10-2008, 10:54 AM
Hi Luis,
The first plasma machine, Did you sell it already? Do you use THC for the first machine? I expect your experience will make the second machine excellently.

Mongkol

lamicron
03-10-2008, 09:43 PM
Hi Mongkol, yes I sold the first one and no, i didnot use the thc for that one, but will use for this one. some changes also in the gantry.

lamicron
03-17-2008, 08:28 PM
hey Millman, or any other expert, need some help',
Today i was starting the first plasma table I made, I have a Thermal dynamics 50 Pack. I had cut two parts and in the tjhird the mouse got stucked. also the keyboard. I had to restart the PC,
Tryed again and get the same results, maybe the HF?? I have the machine and the plasma grounded at different points.. Any clues?
Thanks
Luis

lamicron
03-25-2008, 08:18 AM
We have painted and installed some of the rails, now installing motors,

Med-Pac
03-25-2008, 08:57 AM
Nice machine, congrats on a great job.

Mike

millman52
03-26-2008, 07:18 PM
hey Millman, or any other expert, need some help',
Today i was starting the first plasma table I made, I have a Thermal dynamics 50 Pack. I had cut two parts and in the tjhird the mouse got stucked. also the keyboard. I had to restart the PC,
Tryed again and get the same results, maybe the HF?? I have the machine and the plasma grounded at different points.. Any clues?
Thanks
Luis

Luis, sorry I haven't been on for a few days. Have you got your computer "freezing" problem figured out? If so what was causing it?

Your new build looks very good.

My guess on the screen lock problems id noise somehow finding it's way back to the computer. Usually from common ground(s)

Typically you should have your plasma machine grounded to a seperate ground rod than your AC power supply. you should also have your plasma work ground directly to the piece of metal you are cutting. NOT to the machine bed or machine frame.

Neil

lamicron
03-26-2008, 09:20 PM
Yes, I found that, I put a separate rod for the plasma ,
The problem was in the pc grounded. Fixed now ,Thanks
About the :
" you should also have your plasma work ground directly to the piece of metal you are cutting. NOT to the machine bed or machine frame."
I use the ground to the slats where the work is cut, not directly to the work, is ths ok?

millman52
03-27-2008, 07:18 AM
" you should also have your plasma work ground directly to the piece of metal you are cutting. NOT to the machine bed or machine frame."
I use the ground to the slats where the work is cut, not directly to the work, is ths ok?


It is recomended that the work ground go directly on the sheet being cut. Most slats are "drop in" & don't have a secure metal to metal contact surface.

It will probably work, hooked to the slats, most of the time. You are however leaving that chance of loosing ground & causing problems.

Neil

lamicron
04-04-2008, 10:51 PM
Almost finish, have to install the tHC 300, andf get the slats for the waterbed,

Mongkol
04-04-2008, 10:55 PM
Luis,
It's a nice machine.

Mongkol

lamicron
04-12-2008, 11:14 PM
Last photos from my cnc plasma

Mongkol
04-12-2008, 11:46 PM
Hi Luis,
Do you use THC300 on this machine? Is it ok?

Mongkol

lamicron
04-13-2008, 10:59 AM
other pics THC , MACH, SHEETCAM,
Hiwin rails,
Roton ball screws,
Kelling step motors, c10 board, power supply,
Standard Steel gear racks,
We made the pulleys and the 20 pitch pinions ..and also the frame.
Water bed with the slats and upper support for the Router table.
The torch support in the Z has to be taken away to mount the router ( thats a bad matter, have to change it).
Measures of the X and Y travel 1300mm x 2500mm
Made in almost two months, the target was 30-40 days....
Initial Budget $6.000,...... final, anyone know..?
Now we ´ll start a heavy duty 4 x 4 router .
LOVE TO BUILD THIS TOYS!!!!!!

lamicron
04-13-2008, 11:06 AM
------

Crevice Reamer
05-18-2008, 01:43 PM
That is a BEAUTIFUL machine, Luis! Very Nice work!

CR.

lamicron
05-18-2008, 03:43 PM
Thanks , Cr

lamicron
05-20-2008, 10:08 AM
This pics are from a 1.74mts length 3/8" thick cut. I had to leave "bridges " to avoid deformation produced by the length of the cut. the difference with the original size was 1mm . But it was because did not set the correct kerf. I did the "steps per" calculation with the mach function in the settings tab. Fine tool!

lamicron
06-09-2008, 08:33 PM
I cut this in 14 gauge HR plate. Thermal Dynamics plasma.

Mongkol
06-10-2008, 05:53 AM
Hi Luis,
Do you use THC300 with your machine smoothly?

Mongkol

lamicron
06-10-2008, 08:10 AM
I have one month tryng to put it to work, now we are rechecking the grounding because i´m having a fault that don´t let the thc work properly. The cut was made with out the thc, I used a screw to move up and down manually the floating torch.
Luis

carbidecraters
06-11-2008, 05:40 PM
Can you post more pics of the gantry build. Very impressive and very nice paint on the machine. The gantry looks alot like one I have seen on sale on another website.

lamicron
06-11-2008, 07:46 PM
You can see that photos in the 1st page of this thread, also can see it at my webpage www.lamicron.com
Now after working the plasma with the machine I think the gantry should be ligther, and all that dust.....!

lamicron
07-02-2008, 07:24 AM
Cutting a redskin indian:
http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lFYcvh98u0

Mongkol
07-02-2008, 09:27 AM
Luis,
Nice work. Do you use Thermal Dynamic plasma with manual torch? Which model? Does it have THC system for this video?

Appreciate you
Mongkol

carbidecraters
07-02-2008, 03:46 PM
Fantastic! Is that Mach 3 running?

lamicron
07-02-2008, 08:16 PM
No,this cut was made in my first table, it doesn´t have a THC , The plasma is a thermal Dynamics Power pack, and Mach3 ver. 3.041

lamicron
08-27-2008, 10:53 PM
Some cuts from my tables, Harley Davidson 1/8" HR, The redskin 1/8" HR, support plate 1/4" HR , and the other part (like butterfly) is a motor carter protector for a V Strom Suzuki motorcycle. (before bending)

lamicron
08-31-2009, 10:06 AM
When making a circle the cut look like a saw, the line is not smooth, anyone with this problenm before?
Thanks
Luis

Rhinorider
08-31-2009, 10:24 PM
Lamicron, Coud you send me the file for the V-Strom motor protector. I have a k5 DL1000. I noticed your location is Columbia. Is that South Carolina?

lamicron
09-01-2009, 11:58 AM
Hi Rhino, COLOMBIA Southamerica,
I have the filein corel hope you can open it, there is another piece to hold the protector, i{ll send it later, )did not find it!!
regards
Luis

Rhinorider
09-01-2009, 07:38 PM
Thanks Luis, I got it. Looks good.

Regards
rick

lamicron
01-15-2010, 10:39 AM
Well, I was making a plasma - router table, but after working with thye plasma and the water table, I found that cleaning and changing to router was a hard work, and I ended making another machine with almost the same config , changed the linear rails and the heigth of the gantry. I was really happy with the rsults of thje plasma table, but now I´m really , really happy , with this new toy, and now it becomes like a vice, to build these machines, Im going now to cnc a benchmill, but by now , this is my new toy.

YouTube- 3d router cnc

Morcy
03-06-2010, 05:33 PM
Hi guys,
Excelent work and great design, is realy beautiful

I want to build a plasma cutter, but I need help me in the building.

Thank you and regards from spain.

Jesus

tof1
03-07-2010, 02:44 PM
Well, I was making a plasma - router table, but after working with thye plasma and the water table, I found that cleaning and changing to router was a hard work, and I ended making another machine with almost the same config , changed the linear rails and the heigth of the gantry. I was really happy with the rsults of thje plasma table, but now I´m really , really happy , with this new toy, and now it becomes like a vice, to build these machines, Im going now to cnc a benchmill, but by now , this is my new toy.

Good work! How long did it take to finish that bull in the video?

ffelini
03-09-2010, 08:43 PM
Hola Luis!!

I am going to build my first cnc xy plasma table with steppers. I know about CAD design, mechanics and a little about electronics. Can you tell me what are the first steps I must follow besides the design?

Felicidades por tus trabajos!!
Thanks
Jose - Mexico

lamicron
03-10-2010, 05:18 PM
The bull takes one hour to get done.
Jesus , if you need help send me a PM and we can talk spanish. also for Jose, I´ll be glad to give some help
Luis

anxpert
03-13-2010, 11:41 AM
I will be building a 4 axis combination router / plasma table ( 4 x 8 ) with a CANDCNC 4 Axis kit.

I would be willing to share in the table build process with others. We have in-house machining capabilities for the various supports / brackets, etc., that I can provide for others interested.

As a rookie any and all suggestions on the type of guides,rails, etc., will be appreciated .

Regards,

Enrique

lamicron
03-16-2010, 02:01 PM
Enrique, <as <you can see I made two machines, I was thinking of using the same machine for both , but a few things make me change , the water tank, i had to take it out , the cleaning for both operations, change of wires, torch, router. Also the wiring for the plasma needs to go to ground road, the sparks with the wood , etc. Then i decided to go for two machines. Now I know that you cant use the same ball rails for the plasma , because of the metal dust, and the water, i really like the bearings over the plate, I can clean it easier, and if have to change its very easy and unexpensive.
Luis

anxpert
03-17-2010, 11:14 AM
Luis,

Thank you for the advise, I will have to consider building two machines. Do you have any pictures of your machine ?

EM

lamicron
03-21-2010, 09:46 AM
You can see the other 3 pages of this thread There I have some building pics, and a video of the machine cutting
Luis

balimach
03-26-2010, 01:16 AM
Hey, luis

I`m newbie here, its nice to know you & wat a precious masterpiece you`ve been done.

harry,

balimach
03-26-2010, 03:25 AM
I am curious about the gantry, what material do you use for the gantry (alum or mild steel) ? is it hollow bar or you made it? is it 100 x 300 dimension ??

How about the puly and gear housing? you made it with mild steel or you just buy?

because I am trying use alum 100 x 300 & also alum material for gear housing if available, from your opinion is it strong enough?

Harry,

lamicron
03-28-2010, 01:24 PM
Hey Harry<
The gantry and the gear and pulley box are made of mild steel, the only aluminium plate I used is for the front of the Z where the torch is hold. For me is cheaper and easier to machine. After i use the powder coating and it gives that fine apppearence. I think this way the machine looks more strong and industrial, I need it like that because I use to sell these machines. Anyway ,Aluminium is ok, ligther, and beautiful at sigth.
Luis

Normsthename
05-24-2010, 06:22 AM
Nice machine :D
I am looking to build myself a new plasma machine, my existing homebuilt table only has a working area of 1000mm x 600mm :(
I am looking to build a machine that will take a stock sheet size of 2000mm x 1000mm :D
One question, looking at the drawings I can see one side of the gantry is supported by two rails and also has the ballscrew to drive it.
How is the other side supported?
I see two angles welded down the length of the table with a gap between them for a cam follower???
What is a cam follower? Do you have any more information on these?

Thanks

Andy

lamicron
10-02-2011, 02:31 PM
long time I have not been in the forum, I builded some plasma tables, sold them and now building again a new one for me. Now I have a service for cutting named "Cutting Zone"
I have also a Laser 150W for mdf and acrylic, and two routers cnc.
Here some pics of the plasma tables.

millman52
10-02-2011, 05:56 PM
Great looking machines

ABEngine
10-07-2011, 09:28 AM
lamicron,

You mentioned in one of yours posts that you run one of your plasma machines without THC and adjusting height using a simple bolt. This is very interesting for a beginner. Can you give more details/photos? Thanks in advance.

AB

lamicron
06-30-2015, 04:06 PM
This is my last machine I have build 5 of this,now we are building a 6´x 20´. It has a water table , THC, Anticollision system, we use cnc controller or Pc with Mach3 , 285196

285198