PDA

View Full Version : Basic Aluminium TIG settings?

Normsthename
02-03-2008, 02:57 PM
I have a NEXUS NXT 250 AC/DC TIG Welder.
I use it to weld mainly Stainless Steel, and a little mild steel.
I have been welding with it for about two years now, having learnt from scratch.
Lots and lots of scary looking welds and lots more practice later, I now consider myself a reasonable TIG welder on these materals.

I would now like to have a go at aluminium welding.
I use pure argon gas, and I also have some ally filler rods a friend gave me to try.
I have had a try at aluminium welding, but it did'nt go very well.
I cleaned the alumium and filler rod before welding.

The manual that came with my TIG welder is next to useless!
Could someone please give me some base settings to get me started.

Thanks

Andy

richardsohn
02-03-2008, 04:12 PM
I have been in the same situation a couple of years ago.

I went to a Tig welding work shop in Griffin GA. Came out of it with everything I needed for AL welding.
First, machine set-up: Most of the time you need a 1/16 Tungsten!

Set the amperage to about a high as you think you need, higher is better.

Welding: for starting, push the controller all the way to maximum and as soon as the two sides of the seem start melting, put in the rod.
Hold the melt bath with the controller. You may have to back off to a very low setting, just keep it liquid and dip the rod in.

If you think you are loosing it, stop and start new on the spot where you stoped, it is generally easier than starting a new joint.

Do not butt weld 6061! it will crack!

I believe the cleaning issue is overrated in the manuals, if everyting else is right it will work, especially with the newer machines.
FWIW.

richardson

The above described would work for starters trying to weld up to 1/8" thick aluminum on a welding table for practicing.
Just trying to give Andy some hints.

richardson

Toysrme
02-03-2008, 04:58 PM