PDA

View Full Version : Need Help! dxf to g-code?

skipper
01-24-2008, 04:33 PM
Hi All,

I am a newbie to CNC and to SolidCAM. I am very familar with SolidWorks and use solidworks and that is why I am using solidcam. I will be using solidcam for my Rockcliff router/mill I have been going through the "help" in the software to learn how to use it. I gives me option for milling and turning but how do I convert a dxf filled to g-code? I am trying to start off by learning 2D before the 3D. I have not actually cut anything yet on my machine. I am using Mach3 and it comes with a few g-coded program that I ran and using a pen in the machine, trace the program. In the shared files section of this site, most of the programs are in dxf, how to I convert them to g-code in solidworks?

Thanks,
skipper

ger21
01-24-2008, 08:18 PM
I gives me option for milling and turning but how do I convert a dxf filled to g-code?

Just a guess, but I'd say that maybe you can't. Since it's a CAM package designed to mill solidworks models in Solidworks, why would it need to convert 2D .dxf's to g-code?

Hopefully someone who knows can give you an answer.

ppsi
01-28-2008, 08:59 PM
Skipper-

ppsi
01-28-2008, 09:04 PM
Skipper- I am also interested in using Solidcam to create g-code for mach - please let us know how this goes....as for your question, can you import the DXF into a sketch, the cut (or extrude) the dxf file? This will create a 2-1/2D model which I would think solidcam should be capable of processing. Please keep us updated.

Brakeman Bob
01-29-2008, 03:13 AM
I have to make 2D code from DWG's from time to time; this is what I do.

Put the geometry for the toolpath on its own layer.