PDA

View Full Version : Confused

Gingah
01-12-2008, 07:56 PM
Well, obviously there will be a lot of techniques and styles between CnC builders, and I am sort of confused about how you go about building a wood router like this. I want/need a router that can cut hard wood (very hard wood) very precisely (that is more precisely than my hands), and I came to this wonderful site through some googling.

I downloaded the Joe 2006 EASM files, and looked at it and thought to myself: "This is ideal, but where do I begin making one?", I ain't much of an expert when it comes to building machines, I am not educated in that field at all. So I was wondering if anyone could be kind enough to tell me how I should approach building my first CnC wood router; should I get certain materials and parts? should I print the EASM files to try to match what goes where? should I get certain tools?

Any guidance or help would be very much appreciated, as I am a complete beginner within both building machines and CnC wood routers (I've only used one a couple of times in school when I was a kid).

Best regards, Gingah

bp092
01-12-2008, 08:03 PM
Your best bet is to take it one step at a time. What skills do you have and experience to help you in this? Woodworking/metalworking? Joe offers full MDF/HDPE part kits for this machine, are you aware of that? I knew nothing about cnc routers when I came on to this site a while back and I was a hack of anything electronic or with metal, just a woodworker by profession. It's a simple machine, not rocket science, if you take it in steps you can accomplish this and many bigger things there after. By the way what kind of wood are you going to cut on the router (or hope to?) What types of things will you be cutting?

Gingah
01-12-2008, 08:09 PM