PDA

View Full Version : Milling, Drilling and Tapping .75" Thick Fiberglass...

Cyre
10-23-2007, 04:47 PM
I have a project here at work coming up that requires I mill the periphery, drill and tap holes for inserts in .625 thick fiberglass. I am a relatively new machinist (just over a year) and this will be my first encounter with this material. I have searched the net for info, but came up empty and the only person here that has milled any fiberglass didn't have to drill and tap. I'll be using a Mazak Nexus 510 VTC.

Does anyone have any tips and pointers or know of a web page with some info?

Thanx in advance!!

Chuck Reamer
10-24-2007, 01:13 AM
Hey there I have milled a bit of fiberglass, and turned lots of it.

The milling was done on a cnc converted First vertical mill. Not quite a Mazak to say the least. I had to do some drilling and hand tapping on a few parts. It drills and taps nice, just use sharp tools all around.

Solid carbide 4 fluter's work well, try using aluminum feeds and speeds should work pretty well. How many parts do you have to do? Use a solid carbide or powdered metal drill if you have more than a half dozen holes. Super abrasive and will do a real number on HSS. If you have a lot of holes to do you may want to price out a solid carbide tap as well.

Don't run coolant or an air blast, when the cycle is done use a shop-vac to get rid of the dust. If it is a large run you may want to have the vacuum hose rigged to the mill table. Running it while machining should work well if there is a ton of dust.

I wear those big white Tyvek coveralls when I am turning the stuff on a manual lathe. Blue nitrile gloves are a must, latex makes your hands sweat like hell. I also wear a respirator if I am getting serious about making a mess.

Your tools will be dusty and it never seams to all clean off. I just ordered a Brown & Sharpe IP67 caliper and cant wait to test drive it.

naytep
10-24-2007, 08:50 PM