PDA

View Full Version : ventilation of power supply?

mealman
09-24-2007, 02:20 AM
I am not new to power but I am totally new to heat dissipation and ventilation.

I recently purchased KL- 7212($149/pcs) with 860W, 72VDC/12A.

I am planning to put it into a steel utility case and drill some holes for ventilation.

My question is, is a fan and heat sink for ventilation necessary for this type of power supply? Because I want to keep the design as simple as possible.

Thanks in advance

pstret
09-24-2007, 05:18 AM
The problem with switcher? power supplies is to keep the electrolytic caps as cool as possible as they are the most likely cause of failures due to overheating. When ventilating a cased supply, use decent sized slots immediately above the hottest devices (usually power FETs, diodes and transformer). I recommend a minimum slot size of 5mm x 40mm and the more the better. If there is a safety issue with this size of slot (Probe test finger) then double skin the case 5mm apart in the hot areas and use staggered slots. Small holes or slots are not effective as air flow can actually be zero (check out Reynolds numbers). When you have cased the supply, check temps of hot bits on full load with thermocouples. Aim for max rise of 30C above ambient. Hope this helps. Paul

apache405
09-24-2007, 06:42 AM
i would use a fan. a heat sink is nice, but that is typically handled by the frame of the PSU (power supply unit); i.e. the rectifier is connected to the chassis. before you put the PSU in the enclosure take some temperature readings with the unit running under normal load. then put it in the enclosure and repeat the process. the differnce in temperature will allow you to compute the amount of heat the PSU is making, as well as the air flow needed to remove the excess heat. one note, if the temp gets mush above 120deg F (48.9 deg C), shut the PSU down to prevent damage to the circuit card and components. hope this helps...

mealman
09-24-2007, 09:16 AM