PDA

View Full Version : Surfcam velocity 3.0 Flat Surface Machining



jamesr
09-18-2007, 02:16 PM
Im trying out the flat surface maching and it is wiping out my detail in the middle of the part and in the tool parameters their no option for surfaces to avoid or bounding box? any help would be great


Thanks

CNCRim
09-18-2007, 05:22 PM
creat a simple box geometry around the detail then after done with all the toolpath parameter, the software should ask for toolpath bounding........... unless Velocity 3 is change.

Cam Nerd
09-19-2007, 08:28 AM
You need to select everything, not only the flat surfaces but any adjacent details. The idea is that the software will automatically identify the flat areas, so you don't have to

championp
09-21-2007, 10:52 PM
When this happens to me I make a pocket toolpath from the surface boundaries (same tool and stepovers you want to use on the flat surface) and then use 3-axis project. When it asks which surface to project on select visible. After you use project, you probably won't use flat surface anymore.