PDA

View Full Version : Another Joe in GA

BobF
09-12-2007, 09:26 PM
I guess I better start my own thread.
I am brand new to this.
I have orders placed for all (I hope) of the parts. Most of the hardware is here and I have constructed the bearings.
The HobbyCNC kit arrived 2 days ago and that is built.
Got my PC hooked up in the shop today and downloaded Mach3 and installed it. Looking through the program and learning how it works. I sure wish there was someone nearby that could show me a little on how this all works. Anyone in South GA or North FL willing contact me.
Mext post I will get out my camera and take some pics.

Bob

txcowdog
09-13-2007, 12:48 AM
Go get 'em. There is nothing like a new project to put a spring in your step. Looking forward to the pictures.

BobF
09-13-2007, 09:51 AM
You are correct.
Been bouncing off the walls waiting on stuff.
Whats the best way to learn Mach3?

ger21
09-13-2007, 11:16 AM
Whats the best way to learn Mach3?

Watch the videos at www.machsupport.com
Install it and start using it. You don't need a machine to start running code in it.

BobF
09-13-2007, 04:54 PM
Thanks Gerry.
Somehow I missed the videos. I have downloaded and started reading the user guide. I will download the videos tonight.

BobF
09-14-2007, 11:40 AM
I am thinking about cutting a "hole" through the end of the X table near endplate once my machine is built to allow machining the ends of boards similar to this:
http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showpost.php?p=341738&postcount=117
What do you think?

DeWalt58
09-14-2007, 07:17 PM
Very COOL idea Bob......I like that!!! With something like adjustable de-stako type holding clamps for various thicknesses of boards...I can see it!!

Cheers
dewalt58

BobF
09-16-2007, 02:10 PM
Heres a few pictures.
Some of the parts I have collected, how I smoother my rails, and my PC running Mach as I try to figure it out while I wait on the rest of the parts.