PDA

View Full Version : air flow through unsealed MDF under vacuum

drcrash
09-06-2007, 11:17 AM
Does anybody know how much air flows through unsealed MDF under vacuum?

My understanding is that it's reasonably high; MDF is pretty porous stuff.

Anybody have an actual data point? (Say, a tank of a certain size filling up at a certain rate just from flow through the bottom of an MDF platen, or vacuum-clamping surface, of a certain size?)

I'm also wondering what's the easiest, cheapest way to seal MDF pretty well. My understanding is that a lot of paints and varnishes don't do a good job---as they dry, they become microscopically porous where the solvent evaporates away. Even a bunch of coats won't help as much as you think. (I've used polyester & epoxy resins, but that's a bit of a pain in the ass, and a little more costly than I'd like.)

mxtras
09-06-2007, 01:11 PM
I have over 10 years experience working with an MDF vacuum table but I have no data points. I do know it flows better when it is skim cut. I know this because I have a commercial router with a gauge in the chamber and when the 1" waste board is not cut, the gauge will read a higher vacuum pressure than when both sides of the board are skimmed. Higher pressure in the chamber when the table is wide open indicates a restricted surface. In theory, a guage below an open table with no restrictions will read next to nothing for vacuum pressure. To me, this is the most desirable condition. Effective distribution is also important.

The best way I have found to seal unused surfaces is with clear plastic packing tape. It's cheap and very effective.

Scott

martinw
09-06-2007, 02:50 PM