PDA

View Full Version : Hot Wire for 3 axis CNC



huntycnc
08-20-2007, 05:35 PM
I am searching for a method, or existing tool, to cut sytro foam SM on my 4' x 8' cnc router.

Is there a ridged hot wire available?

I have read most of the threads but I am still in the dark.

I also have woodworking software and I’m wondering if this would suffice to run the designs?

I would appreciate your insight.

vulcom1
08-20-2007, 06:42 PM
Not sure if you can hotwire cut foam with a 3 axis machine. Mine has 4 axis with 2 on the left and 2 on the right. Two are x axis and they are all independant from each other along with the two y's which are towers for the vertical movements. With yours you probably would still be using the router as I don't know where you would connect the wire.
Mine is a Hobbycnc pro 4 axis board which is reasonable and I use drawer slides(ball type) with ready rod. It is a combination of what I have seen and I am quite happy.
If you have any questions I would be glad to answer with my limited knowledge.
John

tager_rot
10-19-2007, 06:32 PM
Go to http://hotwirefoamfactory.com/home.php and buy a "hot knife" Mount it where your spindle goes and your good to go... I bought a hot knife for this same reason... I have yet to try it but I hope to have testing done soon. As for the software I would assume that you can set you feedrate to go slow enough to work, but we all know what assuming can do...:D