PDA

View Full Version : Maxnc



I.C.O.N.
04-26-2004, 03:42 PM
Has anyone done any 3d surfacing, utilizing the digitizer on a MAXNC mill?
It looks impressive but the price makes me wonder how well it can work. I am looking to do mostly cosmetic work. Recreating RC car bodies or along those lines.
Any word is appreciated!

HillBilly
06-02-2004, 03:38 PM
I put the 1:1 file in the download area. I scaled these down and cut them with a #00 center drill on my MaxNC10CL G64 style.

HillBilly

I.C.O.N.
06-02-2004, 03:49 PM
COOL, was that taken right off the mustang (I happen to drive one)
So the software really creates the 3d code too? I read about it but have not talked to any one who has used it yet.
I am trying to get the wife to fork up the the 5g's to get a 15cl with 4th axis and tool it up.
Thanks for the reply.

Al_The_Man
06-02-2004, 03:57 PM
HillBilly, I am intrigued with the maxnc digitizing software. there is a mention of using it with almost any cnc mill system.
How do they integrate it to obtain a digitized path with any control?, I would think the program has to have control of the motion commands somehow?
I have a 3 axis measuring probe that I am looking to find some way using as a digitizer, the motion card I have has a Nurbs function and position capture via G31. But so far there is no code written to take advantage to combine these functions and combine them in a digitizer.
Al

HillBilly
06-02-2004, 04:26 PM
I.C.O.N.

Yes it is a 60's model grill emblem.
I included a close up so you could see the tool pathes.
You define the box size to digitize and other parameters (how much to step over for each pass, recording distance and test distance).

Al, They must be feferring to the G code file produced running on any machine (assuming it meets that EIA standard). The digitizer is software thats works with there motion system. (Just as you figured.)

Darek

I.C.O.N.
06-03-2004, 08:19 AM
Have you cut any steel with your mill? I am looking to cut some 303sst.
The detail is just what I am looking for, I like the flow of the path as well.
Looks good man, thanks for the info.

HillBilly
06-03-2004, 10:10 AM
No steel yet only aluminum. I just sold my Bridgeport Boss5/MaxNC retrofit so that could happen anytime now.

Darek

HillBilly
06-12-2004, 06:45 PM
Sorry about the download it is double in size and should be cut with a 0.25" ball.
I am still looking for the original file.

Darek