PDA

View Full Version : Excellon drilling in Mach2?



Rhodan
04-26-2004, 11:17 AM
I've been searching around in the Mach2 demo and I like most of what I've seen. I think I might even understand almost all the setup parts (Mr. Optimist!).

What I don't see though is anything about drilling? I'm going to be making PCBs so drilling is actually the most important part for me - I can etch good boards instead of milling if needed but, the drilling is mucho-desirous of CNCing...

Can you/How do you get from Excellon to drilled holes using Mach2?

HomeCNC
04-26-2004, 02:31 PM
Drilling is a standard canned cycle with most controllers and Mach 2 does have this. I Peck drill all the time. I don't know the G code for it because I use a CAM package. I'm sure there are some manual programmers out there who can give you the G code for a drill cycle.

turmite
04-26-2004, 04:17 PM
G83 is the code for peck drilling with a canned cycle. You can also wirte macros for use if you have different needs.
Mike

imserv
04-27-2004, 02:42 PM
DeskPCB will get you G-code from Gerber and Excellon files.

http://www.imsrv.com/deskpcb

Fred Smith - IMService