PDA

View Full Version : Kenneth's Joe #2 Build Log - S.E. Texas

kb18951452
06-22-2007, 09:05 AM
Well, Thought it might be time to get things going with a real log of my build.

I have quite a few pictures to show of my progress, I am in the middle of everything, and i could use some help finishing things up with this first machine. A friend of mine pointed out that he is so stuck on the mechanics that he has overlooked the electronics.

DITTO to that.

I collected some motors from a Copy Machine Leasing company. There arnt many specs on many of them, but i thought someone might point me in the right direction, OR maybe someone can simply let me know what kinda power i am gonna need to use for these.

I am not an electrician, so i am pretty lost by the phenomena of what makes my computer go, and lightning strike.

I will show my motors first. ANY help would be nice.

kb18951452
06-22-2007, 09:36 AM
Here is the HDPE i picked p for free.

It measures 5' x 4.5' x 1"

I have 3 that measure that size, as you can see in the picture, and another that is 4.5' x 3' x 1" which is also in the picture.

I'm planning on builsing Joes second machine, in preperation for building his 3rd one (at some undisclosed future date)

as you can see, its blue as all get out.

tybrenis
06-22-2007, 01:03 PM
Looks like your off to a good start. I don't have much advice for you with the motors, but I'm sure someone else here can help you out. Where did you find that much HDPE for free?!

kb18951452
06-22-2007, 01:09 PM
Looks like your off to a good start. I don't have much advice for you with the motors, but I'm sure someone else here can help you out. Where did you find that much HDPE for free?!

http://www.lumenlab.com/forums/index.php?s=&showtopic=8793&view=findpost&p=236824

kb18951452
06-27-2007, 05:26 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/3-Nema-34-400oz-in-Dual-Shaft-Stepper-Motors-CNC-New_W0QQitemZ150135597483QQihZ005QQcategoryZ78196QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem