PDA

View Full Version : [ask] identifying 3 phase motor

toya
05-28-2007, 03:12 AM
Hi, i'm a newbie here

Some one help me please, I have a 3 phase induction motor 45 kW, the problem is, i missed wire letter, which U,V or W and which X,Y, or Z,

How to identify the letter, anyone know? please tell me the trick, or is any method to identify that letters without pull out stator from body or open the winding connection?

help me please, thank you for advice

Geetar-ist
05-28-2007, 10:54 AM
im not sure what you mean there but...

just wire the 3 phases in and if the motor turns the wrong way - change any two around - easy...

magvat
05-28-2007, 11:23 AM
There are normaly 6 wires conected to an board with 6 conectors. they are marked u1,v1,w1 and u2,v2,w2. where u1,u2 is one winding and so on. Then you must know the voltage you will run it on. If the motor is marked 110/220Volts, meaning for 110 connect the windings in delta.for 220 in star. To locate the windings use an ohmmeter and you will find 3 simular walues repesenting the windings. For the 45Kw motor the resistans in the windings is very low.

toya
05-29-2007, 05:27 AM
Oh sorry, fogot it, the motor should run at 3 phase 380 volts.

@magvat

yes, you're correctly, the motor have 6 wires and each motor may different at wire mark, ok i done it what you mean about U1,V1, or W1 and U2,V2 or W2, also i has try your advice to check and search similar-winding use a Ohm-meter.

The result, now i already find 3 winding with similar resistance, but how to surely which U1 and U2 (may be i can do that if i use it at one winding) but how to check V1 and V2 or W1 and W2?

Is any problem if i miss-identification? for example: i already know it as V1 but the true this wire is V2 or vice-versa, do you know how to surely check it? may be that a problem?

hope your next advice, thank for attention

magvat
05-29-2007, 03:15 PM