PDA

View Full Version : Joe's Machine, Me Too, in AZ

GunPilot
05-10-2007, 06:17 PM
Hi all. I'm jumping in with a Joe's machine. I got the kit from Joe about a week ago (still cleaning up foam peanuts). I have already built the electronics (HobbyCNC 3-xis kit with 200-oz motors) so now on to the machine.

I have never built a CNC machine before, or done any machining, so my learning curve is straight up right now. I will probably ask a lot of dumb questions before it is all over but this is fun.

I'm also restoring a 1949 Ford 8N tractor, so my machine will probably end up red and gray from the leftover tractor paint ;)

Thanks to Joe for a great machine and especially to CNCZone for all the info that's here.

-George in AZ

bp092
05-10-2007, 06:22 PM
George, welcome to a fun build. There is a slight learning curve but it will seem like nothing spread out over the entire build. Much of the difficult work has been done if you buy the kit (I did) and the rest is mostly assembly beyond the bearing angle mounts. Post pics as you progress and feel free to ask any questions, that's what we are here for.

ccsparky
05-12-2007, 07:10 PM
Welcome to the club George!

Post often with pictures, can't wait to see your machine!
Second what bp092, the members of this group are the best around! I've really enjoyed being a part of this! Also check out garcwell's spreadsheet of parts he posted on his site and the mod page. He did a great job with it and it'll be really helpful!

Enjoy!

Bob

GunPilot
05-13-2007, 01:46 AM
Thanks for the welcome guys. I checked out the spreadsheet and it helped a lot.

I don't have pics uploaded yet, but I have most of the woodwork done. I built the z-axis box and both of the y-axis boxes a couple days ago. I glued up the x-axis torsion box today. I find that the fit of the parts is so precise that the assemblies are virtually self-jigging.