PDA

View Full Version : Extruder not working. PLEASE HELP!!



KidKhaos
03-10-2018, 04:53 PM
So I shelled out 150 bones for an i3 clone on ebay. I know all the haters are going to say I should have bought a better one, but here we are.

First print the thing works like a champ, I download a file from thingiverse, slice it, and presto bammo we are printing. Not perfect, but not bad for a first run.
I take a swing at a second print and start having extrusion issues. I could hear it clicking and assumed the cheap, plastic extruder that lacked any sort of spring tension was the issue. After disassembling and reassembling a million times the problem continued to get worse and worse. I started to notice the stepper for the extruder wasn't running properly, and eventually not at all.

I have tried the following to narrow down the problem and am still stumped:
Connected the extruder stepper to the x axis. It works fine.
Swapped the drivers around. Both are functional.
Checked the reference voltage. Also acceptable.
Swapped the cables to the stepper motor. Also functional.

Anybody have any ideas as to what might be going on? This was a very progressive issue and worsened gradually until the motor was inoperable.

Thanks in advance guys and gals!

KidKhaos
03-10-2018, 04:58 PM
My printer is equipped with a GT2560 RAMPS board with A4988 drivers and NEMA 17 steppers. Here is a link to the printer I bought.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/232628952111?_sp=p2488212.m41214.l9765&_trkparms=itemid%3A232628952111

Thanks again!

daniellyall
03-10-2018, 05:10 PM
The hot end will be blocked heat it up to 260 then pull it to bits when its hot

KidKhaos
03-10-2018, 05:13 PM
The hot end isn't blocked I can push filament through without an issue. The extruder motor doesn't run at all, even when unmounted from the printer with nothing attached but the cable.

LeeWay
03-10-2018, 05:38 PM
I suspect a loose cable to start with. Then is the stepper stalling when skipping? I would check to see if the extrude volume or speed has been changed in the software you are using to slice with. Does this machine have an auto filament load and unload?
If so, that is a good way to test the extrusion process.

KidKhaos
03-10-2018, 05:45 PM
I suspect a loose cable to start with. Then is the stepper stalling when skipping? I would check to see if the extrude volume or speed has been changed in the software you are using to slice with. Does this machine have an auto filament load and unload?
If so, that is a good way to test the extrusion process.

I checked the cable. The Printer doesn't have auto anything as far as I am aware.
I can literally dismount the stepper motor and hold it in my hand while plugged in and when prompted to move it does not. I can connect it to another axis at which point it moves as intended. It doesn't respond to any extruder commands what so ever.

LeeWay
03-10-2018, 06:03 PM
and you said you changed the stepper drives out?

jo_ky
03-10-2018, 06:09 PM
It seems like the only thing you haven't ruled out is a bad channel for the extruder output on your controller board. Look for physical damage to the components on the board.

That board has dual extruder support, right? Can you reconfigure it so that you use the 2nd extruder channel, instead?

KidKhaos
03-10-2018, 06:20 PM
It seems like the only thing you haven't ruled out is a bad channel for the extruder output on your controller board. Look for physical damage to the components on the board.

That board has dual extruder support, right? Can you reconfigure it so that you use the 2nd extruder channel, instead?

It does support dual extruders, now that is a heck of an idea right there! I am not sure how to do this, but I am sure the internet can tell me.


and you said you changed the stepper drives out?

I did swap the drivers to be sure one wasn't faulty.

LeeWay
03-10-2018, 06:32 PM
A little tip on those stepper drives especially ones with dual extruders, make sure you have fans blowing across them.
Heat can kill them pretty quickly.
If it is a bad board, try to get a warranty replacement. It happens.

A_Camera
03-12-2018, 09:50 AM
It does support dual extruders, now that is a heck of an idea right there! I am not sure how to do this, but I am sure the internet can tell me.



I did swap the drivers to be sure one wasn't faulty.

You must make a change in Marlin to enable the second extruder.