PDA

View Full Version : 3d edge finder



PCSM-CNC
02-06-2018, 03:05 PM
Hello Forum.

Now i finished build my edgefinder.
But i`m missing the menue messuring edge out (x y) and messuring egde in (x y) and messuring center.

How to are this functions not include?

Eatonbrayer
02-07-2018, 02:44 AM
A big AGREE from me too! This needs to be remedied as soon as possible.

TNG users, please add your post to this. We might get some action

PlanetCNC
02-07-2018, 03:30 AM
Everything you need to do measurings in implemented in TNG. Probe commands (G38.2), normal, global and named parameters, all needed math functions, UI helpers, custom scripts,...
Almost all program menus are fully customizable and new functions are easily added. What is needed is a tutorial how to do all this.

Eatonbrayer
02-07-2018, 03:58 AM
I am surprised. - When can we have a user friendly macro/wizard to make it practical to use? I am unlikely to have the time or indeed the ability to make my own.

Please expedite this as soon as possible. It has to be a feature which will enhance your PlanetCNC sales. This and other features that I have had to "discover" are not presented in your commercial material. ( Please also finish the Thread Milling Wizard)

I love your system. After many years of using Mach3 (I still have three other machines using it, for educated comparison) I would use the PlanetCNC router every time. But these little finishing touches are frustrating, when it is all that is needed to perfect your controls.

PlanetCNC
02-07-2018, 04:34 AM
I agree with you. Those little things need to be done. And they will be.

Eatonbrayer
02-07-2018, 06:52 AM
With respect. Where is this in your priority list. Will you give an estimate please.
I have decisions to make based on being able to X,Y, digitise.

PCSM-CNC
02-07-2018, 07:18 AM
I`m sad cause of this. Like Eatonbrayer wrote, this issue have to fix with highest priority because i`m sure that other user need the functions too.
I dont`t understand why this tools are aviable in old version and in thr new not.
An other thing ist the toolchange in TNG.
When ever i start a gcode, TNG tell me about M6 Toolchange script to write.
Sorry but i`m not a programmwriter.

@ Eatobrayer:
I`m not able to write a programm / script or something else to use some functions.
I think about return to old version till TNG is not longer beta.

Eatonbrayer
02-07-2018, 07:49 AM
PCSM-CNC - Yes I bought my system last year based on the ability of the old software. - It feels like we have been short changed with an incomplete TNG.
So let`s hope some others will pitch in and perhaps we will get something done??.

PCSM-CNC
02-07-2018, 08:09 AM
I bought it 2 years ago and i was very pleased with old version. I only changed while TNG optical is more up to date.
Maybee Planet CNC can tell us when TNG final with all functions and more easy to configure will appear.

I`m sure that Planet CNC can create a fantastic version of TNG. They made a great "old" version so that i hope that the TNG will be gread again...

@ Planet CNC:
You see your customer needs a great and easy to use TNG. So then go go go!!! (group):stickpoke:D

PlanetCNC
02-07-2018, 08:30 AM
Current TNG beta version uses g-code interpreter from old software.
Our goal is to make new interpreter that will use g-code dialect compatible with LinuxCNC, Mach and Fanuc. We also made our own language which uses EMCA script syntax and allows access to internal object model from g-code.
This is huge task and we are 3 months behind schedule.

I could add these measuring scripts in few minutes. Unfortunately even if I do, it will be no use to you because new version can not be published until interpreter changes mentioned above are made.

That is why "User Defined" script is only option until then. I'll create an example bit later.

TNG beta can do everything old software could (except SD card) and much more but not everything is in plain sight. Thread Milling Wizard? Try menu Machine/UserDefined/Thread.

PCSM-CNC
02-07-2018, 08:41 AM
Ok i understand.
Maybee it is possible to help by myself if there is a manual and / or a how to... for easy making some functions working till TNG is in a finish version.

First use of TNG i was very suprised that many functions are working different to old version. I thougt i easy change to TNG and everything fits and i can work like before...
Is there a date when final comes out? Or better return to old version?

Is it possible to show how long mashine needs to end programm? In old version there was a time on right bottom.

PlanetCNC
02-07-2018, 09:21 AM
TNG is totally different from old sw and final version will not be much different that current beta.
In order to configure tool change you will need to create M6 script. But we will mage some example scripts and tutorials.
Total time needed to run a program is in parameter #<_file_totaltime>. Because g-code can now be interactive and dynamic it is impossible to calculate time to end but it most cases you can use #<_file_linecount> and #<_line> to estimate current position.

Here are tutorials how to display these parameters on screen:
https://planet-cnc.com/create-custom-tabs-planetcnc-tng-software/

PCSM-CNC
02-07-2018, 09:48 AM
I´m looking forward for the tutorials to create M6 script.
Hope it will appear soon

Eatonbrayer
02-07-2018, 11:54 AM
I have been looking at thread Milling for some time. But do not understand how to use it? How about a short tutorial?

PlanetCNC
02-07-2018, 12:28 PM
Threads are usually made with lathe. On lathe spindle needs to have good speed sensor. Usually 100 PPR encoder is used. On mill this is more complex and depends on what kind of thread do you want. Special tools are also needed. I believe this topic is well beyond this forum.
Here is one example:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a43S2y7Ccy8

Eatonbrayer
02-08-2018, 02:20 AM
I am familiar with and a fairly regular exponent of, thread milling. - My question was simply how to make sense of your wizard.

PlanetCNC
02-08-2018, 05:06 AM
"threadind wizard" is just UI for G76 threading cycle. I keep forgetting all options that G76 has so I made this little helper.
G Codes (http://linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/g-code.html#gcode:g76)

Eatonbrayer
02-08-2018, 06:42 AM
Thank you for the information.
In spite of rarely writing my own programmes I will certainly persevere with a study of this until I can.
I know it is not your responsibility, but if you would help further, I would like to know, is G76 normally used for vertical thread milling? If so, will it work with an unsynchronized spindle.

PlanetCNC
02-08-2018, 08:58 AM
In our interpretation threading always means synchronized spindle. This is because cycles named "threading" always use synchronized spindle.
On vertical mill you can make threads with unsynchronized spindle using helical arcs. In video posted above they do it this way.

PlanetCNC
02-08-2018, 09:23 AM
I would just ask for more detailed description of edge finder feature.

Is it meant to set Working position XY=0 at the exact edge of workpiece?
Should it also consider the rotation of workpiece and thus appropriately rotate the coordinate system and therefore toolpath?

Features would be?:

Measure angle outside
Measure angle inside
Measure hole center
Measure cylinder center?

Eatonbrayer
02-08-2018, 09:52 AM
Well it would be good to have all of those options if possible please.

PCSM-CNC
02-09-2018, 09:07 AM
Update: Yesterday i changed back to V1 !old! version of PlanetCNC Software.
Now milling works perfekt with edgefinder. But one question:
My touchneedle is at the moment diameter 6mm.
If i set "Größe"??? or "thickness" to 6mm tooloutside is equal to workpeace in x and y.
Should it be not in the middle of 6mm tool?

PlanetCNC
02-14-2018, 09:26 AM
https://planet-cnc.com/adding-custom-features-to-planetcnc-tng-software/

See bottom of page for custom feature measurement files.

Eatonbrayer
02-14-2018, 12:58 PM
Thanks for files. Angle finder file reports "ERROR IN GCODE: left bracket missing after unary operation"
Centre finder file runs OK.

PlanetCNC
02-14-2018, 02:30 PM
Error is wrong. Problem is that ATAN2 fails when software tries to draw this g-code to 3D display. Points are not really probed and are all zeroes.
This is workaround:

o<100> if [[#<py2> NE #<py1>] OR [#<px2> NE #<px1>]]
#<ang1> = [ATAN2[[#<py2>-#<py1>],[#<px2>-#<px1>]]]
(print,Angle: #<ang1>)
o<100> endif

Eatonbrayer
02-15-2018, 02:36 AM
I do not pretend to understand this. Do not know about your normal customer base, but they must be many levels above me.
Where do I post this workaround code?

PlanetCNC
02-15-2018, 02:53 AM
In script that measures angle.
Perhaps it is best that you wait for next version if you don't want to edit scripts yourself. Measure scripts will be included and fully tested.

Eatonbrayer
02-15-2018, 04:19 AM
Did not say do not want to, simply asked how to,
But no worries I will revert the new machine to Mach 3 with Gerry`s 2010 screenset. That will give me everything I need.
I will revisit Planet CNC in 3/6 months? When is ready.

PCSM-CNC
02-15-2018, 07:47 AM
Or you go back to V1? I did it and everything works. I`m sad cause of the problems with TNG but i`m sure i`m go back to TNG when final version is running so easy like old version.

PlanetCNC
02-15-2018, 08:07 AM
@Eatonbrayer:

In UD7 script replace this:
#<ang1> = [ATAN2[[#<py2>-#<py1>],[#<px2>-#<px1>]]](print,Angle: #<ang1>)

with

this:
o<100> if [[#<py2> NE #<py1>] OR [#<px2> NE #<px1>]]
#<ang1> = [ATAN2[[#<py2>-#<py1>],[#<px2>-#<px1>]]]
(print,Angle: #<ang1>)
o<100> endif

Eatonbrayer
02-15-2018, 09:37 AM
Thank you! It is now working.

PCSM-CNC
02-27-2018, 09:40 AM
Now i made steps like manual too.
But if i messure center, mashine move till contact material left, move back to startposition, move till contact material right and move with g00 different distance.
then when not crashed to endswitch, same in y direction. Move till contact y-, move to startposition, move till contact y+ and with goo y+ different distance.
So if i probe a real material, my probesensor will be broke.

If i use Messure Angle, mashine moves y+ till contact material twice and brake with error:

left bracket missing after unary operation
Line: #<ang1> = [ATAN2[[#<py2>-#<py1>],[#<px2>-#<px1>]]]


How to probe Workpeace position (Workpeacezero XY) in x+ and y+ direction?

Eatonbrayer
02-28-2018, 03:52 AM
Having stated "Working" I retract that statement. I too would not use it with my probe.
I fortunately have another machine with Mach3 and 2010 screenset. Works like a dream.
Lets wait for TNG software to be completed. Make sure we have lots of candles for several birthday cakes!!!!!

PCSM-CNC
02-28-2018, 04:53 AM
I think it's a pity that it takes so long until the TNG is completed and the functions are not working properly. Of course, the developers are busy building and improving, but at the moment TNG is not yet operational.
I'm also building my second CNC milling machine and I'm thinking about using the Planet CNC solution again or changing completely. Maybe I'll try a solution with Mach 3 or Linux CNC.