PDA

View Full Version : Low cost ATC



WestyOne
10-14-2017, 01:06 PM
I wanted an ATC but Smithy didn't offer one for the MX200 Talon. The "Rack" type hogs some machining real estate so that had to go. Here's what I did. Easy.



http://www.cnczone.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=375486&stc=1 (http://www.westyonedesign.com/products/)

Steve303
10-17-2017, 09:41 AM
I like your ATC. Any video's of it in action? Looks like you are running a commercial grade controller and not Mach3 or PathPilot.

WestyOne
10-17-2017, 09:46 AM
Hi - If you click on the photo you will go to my web site where the video is. It would be easy to make this work with Mach 3 (easier than the Siemens controller).

Cheers

Steve303
10-17-2017, 10:08 AM
Very nice. I have a Novakon Pulsar and looking for a simple ATC. I am using PathPilot for control.

Steve

WestyOne
10-17-2017, 11:57 AM
Do you have a power draw bar?

Steve303
10-17-2017, 12:02 PM
Yes, I have a PDB similar to Tormach's.

Steve

WestyOne
10-17-2017, 01:24 PM
What type of Tool Holders?

Steve303
10-17-2017, 01:53 PM
Tormach TTS type tool holders.

WestyOne
10-17-2017, 05:46 PM
Should work perfect.

Steve303
10-26-2017, 10:07 AM
Tim, are you using a work offset for your first tool location then offsetting from there for the other three tools?

Steve

WestyOne
10-26-2017, 10:42 AM
Steve - In my application the Sinumerik 808D control has provisions for 4 "Fixed Position" variable sets (X,Y,Z). Each set is a tool pocket location. The Tool Change macro logic figures it all from there. Work offsets would work just as well.

I assume you can orient the spindle on your machine.

Bob J