PDA

View Full Version : new mill power and wiring

stanglou
03-13-2007, 08:30 PM
Ok, the new mill states that it must have 230V three phase power. is this true, and if I have 240 what should I do. There is also a five wire plug that the machine was attached to, what is with that, none of the diagrams mention a fifth wire....im confused

Tony Montana
04-03-2007, 09:27 PM
I'm no expert, but since no one else has chimed in I'll take a stab at it.

The 230 volt requirement is a nominal spec. Voltage varies from locality to locality and even from day to day. 240 should be fine.

Again, I'm no expert but perhaps the fifth wire is a neutral (3 hots, one ground, and one neutral). I've seen this sort of thing with 220 single phase welders. Instead of the normal 3 wire (2 hots, one ground) they often have a neutral wire as well. The neutral is only necessary if the machine taps one leg for a 110 application (such as a machinist light, a duplex outlet, dro, etc).

Flyinfool
04-09-2007, 03:01 PM
Also most houses do not have 3 phase wiring.
You will need to get a Phase converter. The motorized ones are the best.

in2steam
04-13-2007, 03:59 AM
Ok, the new mill states that it must have 230V three phase power. is this true, and if I have 240 what should I do. There is also a five wire plug that the machine was attached to, what is with that, none of the diagrams mention a fifth wire....im confused
This question was answered already in a different area,

230 three phase and 240 are the same thing, its a nominal rating, some machines have taps on there transformers to give a closer voltage if needed on the control side. The fifth prong was an reported as an extra "neutral" since 3 phase systems don't normally use a neutral its probably a ground.
although I don't know fore sure.