PDA

View Full Version : Tri-Cities, Tn

Appalachiatools
03-11-2007, 09:43 PM
Hello all, I am a woodworker, new to cnc milling. I just purchased a 25" x 25" (X x Y) cnc w/ a .5 hp 110v spindle. I'm just getting it set up and watching all the mach videos. I have some plc experience and am a licensed master electrician. My computer skills are lacking to say the least. I think it's more of a patience problem. The x and y axis on my cnc are table movements rather than Gantry and Y-car. I am in Weber City, Va. just across the state line from Kingsport, Tn. Is there anyone in the area who could help give me a jump start or know of any cnc groups in the area? Would be willing to compensate. Thanks in advance for all replies.
Got to say it...Great site! Thanks!!!

--Rick

Aksess
03-12-2007, 10:58 PM
Welcome aboard! You need to contact PappaBear10 here on the zone he lives in Briceville so maby not to far from you. I am a little further south in Athens

Appalachiatools
03-14-2007, 06:06 PM
Thanks for the reply. What type of shop do you have or toy with? Are you in Athens Tn. or Ga.? Do you have a working CNC? I will be out of town for the next six weeks but will look up PappaBear10 when I get back and would love to talk more with you. I appreciate the info. I have a small job to do in upstate NY and don't know if I will have any wireless coverage for the puter. I'll be locked up in a cheap motel watching Mach III videos! Wow, saying that felt like I put another 10 years on. How times have changed. Thanks.
Work safe!!!
--Rick

Aksess
03-15-2007, 09:13 PM
I have a small shop at my home. I have a Enco 13x40 lathe and a rongfu rf 31 mill. I use to have a cnc router, You can see photos of stuff I done in the photo gallery here on the zone. mostly photo carvings. It is Athens Tn. No cnc at the moment except a non working laser from Redsail "China Sucks"

Appalachiatools
03-15-2007, 10:09 PM