PDA

View Full Version : Kiwi junk-box mini router...

kiwichris
02-24-2007, 07:10 PM
OK....

Only been on the site a wee while, but it would seem like a good idea to share my journey. :)

Basically been dithering for aobut 5 years on making a router, never got around to it as I kept on designing things too complex to actually build at home. I got keen again about three weeks ago, did some googling, found the rockcliff design, which lead to this site.

I've studied lots of photos, and a couple of the free plans, and decided if I studied too many more I'd never get started, and in five years time I'd still be collecting parts and dreaming of cutting bits of balsa wood.

I'm a bit short to buy bits, but really wanted to get something going, so this is what I'm doing with stuff from the garage. (I collected lots of stuff over the last few years, so I've got a lot of bits in my garage!) It'll be too small for most of what I'd like to do, but I'm sure I'll learn lots along the way.

The first pic is six of the ground shaft/bush pairs I've collected from old printers etc. Selected at random because I had pairs of them the same length/diameter with bushes. Yes the bushes should be longer for this type of use, I'm over it.

Measuring those led to the second pic, which I drew up in qcad. Appologies for the metric measurements for those who don't live in france. Total travel going to be about 230x180x60 or there abouts. Going to swing my trusty old dremel tool on it, see if I can blow the bottom bearing out.